Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The recipe was very easy, which was nice. I chose it because I had two pears that were getting overripe (really only needed 1 for the recipe). I ended up adding a glaze to make it taste better - it was a little bland on its own. My kids loved it after I added the glaze to make it sweeter. I will add ginger to the batter next time, as one reviewer suggested. and maybe some walnuts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These are great, although definitely more cookie like than actual scones. They're not overly sweet, but I think that's the point for a breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was easy, and my family raved! I thought the dough was too dry but then added the fresh pear which really moistened it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Yummy! Mine came out more like a muffin than a scone, but I love them! I used my own canned pears, which probably accounts for the extra moisture. Even my British friends approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I found the texture to be more like drop biscuits than scones. I would have liked more spices and a little more sweetness to these; except for the bites of pear, I thought they were bland. I probably won't make these again, but thank you for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I really enjoy these scones and have made them multiple times, but like many, I have made my own variations. You certainly need more dry ingredients, so I suggest playing with the consistency until the batter looks scone-like. Either way, these do have a "muffin-y" texture when baked. When I'm feeling lazy, I substitute the dry ingredients (minus brown sugar) for Bisquik - so easy. I also use additional spices or substitute the pears for applesauce according to my whim on a particular day. Recently, I substituted 1/2 of the flour for whey protein to give some nutritional value to the recipe - totally worked - my son ate them right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made this recipe with the following modifications: 1 c. whole wheat flour and 3/4 all purpose flour, increased the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. Added 1 c. oats (wanted to be able to form into wheel and slice), 1/2 c. toasted walnuts (will try pecans next time). I only used one pear, but I would probably use 2 next time. Still turned out very moist and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These were amazing. The only change I made was to use buttermilk instead of half and half. So tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was so easy to make and just delicious. My pears were quite ripe and therefore full of flavour. I measured my cut pears (unpeeled) and the suggested amount was perfect for this recipe. I only had whole wheat flour so I used that and I needed my cream for my coffee so I put in plain yogurt and a splash of good vanilla instead. I will definitely be making this again, it was even easier then a quick batch of muffins and healthy enough that I didn't mind the kids sneaking a couple of extras off the counter. Thanks for the delicious, easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The recipe is great, my only substitution was the half and half- I used hazlenut coffee creamer! It was wonderful!I cooked it for 15 min, then turned on the broiler to brown the tops ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States