Pear Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I too grew up eating this, but with Miracle Whip/Salad Dressing instead of Mayo. Also the alternative with cottage cheese, MW, and paprika. All great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I have been eating and making these for years and years. We always used food coloring to add a bit of flair to the presentation. Especially at Easter. The colors are amazing against the lettuce. Just use food coloring and water. Or just food coloring for a brighter color. Dip just like eggs. DO NOT USE Vinegar like you do with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am from FL. I have never heard of something like this before. WOW. It's great! I love it! Very weird, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I didn't like it very much. There were too many mismatched flavors in my opinion, but they weren't that bad. Maybe with the cream cheese suggestion or less mayonnaise they would have been better. Interesting flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I grew up eating this salad...we love it! My sister makes it with pineapple slices too...so pretty on a plate of lettuce leaves! We are having it tonight with spaghetti...it's a family tradition! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I grew up eating Pear Salad too!!! We still have them at our family reunion every year and for special occasions. It does sound strange but don't knock it til you try it. I think you really do have to grow up eating it to really appreciate it. I don't even like pears - this is the only way I will eat them. So simple and so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I've eaten this all my life so it seems normal to me, but I guess I can understand how some people might find it odd. Those people need to be braver. This is fantastic: the sweet pears, the rich mayo, the sharp cheese . . . unreal! Serve it with a little of the pear syrup poured over the top; the syrup combines with the mayo into pure deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Great little fruit side salad. I remember now that this used to be really popular in the 60's-70's. It's as good now as it was then. I don't like mayo so I cut it with half cream cheese in a compromise. I didn't have cherries since we'd used them for sundaes and I'd completely forgotten, so I used some cinnamon candies instead for the top. My mom always used canned pears but I used fresh and this was so much better! Thanks for a great way to fix pears. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I've always made this but never put the marichino cherries. Just the pears, mayo and cheddar cheese. Yummmm.. such odd ingredients but the flavors are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is such a wonderfully easy salad to make. I like the suggestions of the cherries and of mixing 1/2 cream cheese and 1/2 mayo. I had always made it with just the mayo and sharp chedder cheese. I'll be trying the cream cheese mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States