Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Recipe didn't work for me. The top did not cook properly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Was a wonderful surprise to use up those left over pears you get in a big gift basket. Perfect as is recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The reviews all said to up the butter and lower the sugar. I ended up with a gross buttery mess. DO NOT up the butter to half cup as all it did was just ooze out of the cooled pie. I regret following users suggestions as the pie is not tasty at all. I did 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3 eggs (everything else the same). If I ever have over ripe pears on hand, I'll follow the recipe with maybe dropping the sugar a little to like 3/4 cup. I'm definitely bummed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is an outstanding pie! My wife says it is the best pie she has ever eaten. I sliced the pears but other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
A friend made this pie at a party and everyone loved it, so I got the recipe and made it as well. I got the same reaction. Everyone I have given this recipe to says the same thing. Its so easy and soo yummy. Finding this pie recipe was a game changer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDude909
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great pear pie. One of the best parts is when the custard near the top/edges caramelizes and has a great rich flavor. Like one reviewer, I used a cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, which made the flavor nice and rich, while still light. I also sliced the pears and arranged them in layers (pears, custard, pear, custard). This made it look really nice when serving slices and allows you to get a good custard/pear ratio throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe and found it to be too sweet. It would be wonderful with half the sugar or smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy to prepare and very yummy, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This pie was just ok. I used 3 small pears and cut them up into pieces-two were over ripe and a little soft and one was less ripe and harder. The recipe needs more pears and they really need to be overripe since you end up with a lot of crust and not much liquid filling to soften them up. Also, it needs a little more butter and definitely some cinnamon sprinkled on the pears and on the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States