Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is delicious! I used up about 5 small pears that were just about over-ripe. I had arranged them in a really pretty pattern, but it was all covered up by the custard- which was ok in the end, as it is absolutely delicious. Mine made a thin golden-brown meringue layer on the top, and did not take anywhere near the whole hour to bake. I made butter-flaky crust from this site and made only half the crust recipe to achieve a thin bottom crust. I also "marinated" my pears in some lemon juice after they were sliced while I prepared everything else, which kept them from turning too brown and added a little flavor as well. Can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe reminds me of one my grandma gave me that has rhubarb in it, I love the custard. I wanted to use up some pears and this really worked. I used 6 pears instead of 2, used a deep dish pie pan, and a pillsbury pie crust. I also added one egg,to make 3 total changed the sugar to 1/3, the butter to 1/3 and added a dash of salt. It turned out so beautiful, and it used up more fruit. Thanks for a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was really tasty! It had thin meringue crust on top that was a perfect complement to the pears. I added 2/3 cup of sugar and a dash of cinnamon. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I made this pie last night - this is really, really, good. I added cinnamon surgar with nutmeg on the pears before toping with the batter. Very easy to make. I will make this again and try with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Sooo Good! I doubled the pears (used 4 instead of 2) and put in a pyrex without a pie crust. Also added cinnamon to the top after cooking. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I enjoyed this Pear Pie...it tasted delicious. I added some cinnamon as others have suggested and one extra pear. Very good pie.. this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike'swife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My husbands favorite. I am always asked to bring it to our family functions. Using hard or very ripe pears, it turns out great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATALINACONWAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Excellent. I used four pears rather than two and cut them into thin slices, this way they got distributed better throughout the pie. I also added a dash of cinnamon to the custard. This was delicious both hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I thought this pie was awesome! I made this for my husband and father in law, and they loved it too! I used 3 very large bosc pears, pealed them and cut them about 1/2" thick. I let them set in Lemon Juice while prepping other things. I took the advise of some of the other reviews and upped the butter to about 1 & 1/4 sticks, added about 1/4 cup brown sugar, and one more egg (total 3), and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the custard mix. I also used Splenda instead of sugar (father in law is type 2.) I sprinkled the top of the pie with Cinnamon Sugar lightly, and it got a very nice golden brown crust. The other thing I did was I thought that maybe the crust would get burned in the oven for a whole hour, so about 1/2 way through, I pulled it out and covered the edges of the pie with foil and it stayed nice and golden brown. Thanks so much for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States