Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I was really surprised how much I like this pie, the only thing I did different was to slice the pears at the bottom of the pie. It was easy to make and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
very good! this pie was super easy and quick to make last minute. the custard set nicely and was great with the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe reminds me of one my grandma gave me that has rhubarb in it, I love the custard. I wanted to use up some pears and this really worked. I used 6 pears instead of 2, used a deep dish pie pan, and a pillsbury pie crust. I also added one egg,to make 3 total changed the sugar to 1/3, the butter to 1/3 and added a dash of salt. It turned out so beautiful, and it used up more fruit. Thanks for a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was really tasty! It had thin meringue crust on top that was a perfect complement to the pears. I added 2/3 cup of sugar and a dash of cinnamon. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I liked this pie. However, I followed the recipe of one of the reviewers. I also used 1/3 C butter and 1/3 C sugar and I also used 6 pears. When I make it again I will add cinnamin to the custard to add a little more flavor. I did sprinkle cinnamin and sugar on the top of the pie once it came out of the oven. that added a little more flavor. My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I chopped the pears - otherwise, the pieces are too large and hard to eat. I was also able to use 5 medium pears this way. Thanks - my coworkers raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I made this pie last night - this is really, really, good. I added cinnamon surgar with nutmeg on the pears before toping with the batter. Very easy to make. I will make this again and try with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is delicious! I used up about 5 small pears that were just about over-ripe. I had arranged them in a really pretty pattern, but it was all covered up by the custard- which was ok in the end, as it is absolutely delicious. Mine made a thin golden-brown meringue layer on the top, and did not take anywhere near the whole hour to bake. I made butter-flaky crust from this site and made only half the crust recipe to achieve a thin bottom crust. I also "marinated" my pears in some lemon juice after they were sliced while I prepared everything else, which kept them from turning too brown and added a little flavor as well. Can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
this is the second time i have baked it the family could not get enough of it now my brother wants to try as it was brill full marks for this easy dish thanksfor sharing it with us thanks agaim i will be makiming it when we go to our holiday cottage at and of june, thanks aaaaaaaaagain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States