Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I doubled the pears, and added a sprinkling of brown sugar and cinnamon on top. Everyone thought the pie was goos, just lacking in flavor. My husband suggested soaking the pears in brandy before baking??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used a graham cracker crust made w/ cinnamon graham crackers. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
it was a hit in my office. i used 2t vanilla and 1t almond extract. also, changed the sugar and butter to 1/3c each. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Great Recipe! Making another one tonight since the one from last night is gone already! Got rave reviews from my bf and roommate...I added crushed pineapple, brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. Very tasty and gave it more flavor I thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenRahel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Excellent recipie! I cut the sugar to about 2/3 or 3/4 cup and added cinnamon and 2 more pears. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Wonderful pie, I added some rasins, cinnamon and slivered almonds to the pie and used a butter pie crust, it was a big hit with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Fantastic pie. I used 1 cup of flour with 4 Tbsp butter, 1 Tbsp sugar, a handful of walnuts, and lots of cinnamon and nutmeg for the crust, which I made in the food processor. I pressed that into the 9" pan to make a crumbly and rich crust. I also used apples instead of pears, which I sliced into eighths and arranged in two concentric circles. For the batter, I used only about 1/2 cup sugar and a little less butter than called for as well. It turned out delicious and not too unhealthy. Can't wait to try it with pears. Served it with vanilla ice cream, but I think whipped cream with diced crystallized ginger will also be great. Fantastic recipe that lends itself to a lot of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was a little too sweet when I made it the first time. I liked the general idea though, and the next time I tried it I reduced the sugar, and instead of pears put mixed berries in the pie crust, including blueberries, raspberries, and quartered strawberries. It came out absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good. I cut the sugar in half and used brown sugar instead, and I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon and craisins. Took much longer to bake than the recipe stated, I had to cover it with foil after about 40 minutes. Probably took 80 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is my new favorite pie! I have made this a half a dozen times and everyone who tries it want the recipe. I did spinkle allspice on the pears and added a tsp. cinnamon to the custard. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States