Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by chicbunny
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Absolutely amazing! The only thing I did differently was rude 1/3 of the sugar because the pears are already very ripe and sweet. This recipe and totally changed the way I think about baking pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made this pie repeatedly throughout the holiday season last year. It's so easy, pretty, and different from the pies you usually see on the holiday table. My extended family loved this at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this pie a few days ago; I think the name of this recipe should be changed from "pear pie" to "pear custard." It was really delicious and really simple. I didn't see a need to peel the pears, so I didnt'; I just sliced them. Also, when making the custard, I added a small sprinkle of cinnamon and I reduced the amount of vanilla extract to a dash. Overall, it was really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was a very good dessert. Used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. It got a crusty top and left a hole where each pear was placed. it looked like a picture! Every one loved it. I put it in a tart pan and it looked quite awesome. It was super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great starting point. I took the advice of several reviewers and used 3 eggs and changed the sugar to 1/3 and the butter to 1/3 for a deep pie pan. Other recommendations:use soft Bartlett pears. I've made it with other pears and it doesn't work near as well. Also, before serving, refrigerate it. We had it at room temperature it was okay but once it was cooled, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
The recipe is quick, easy, and delicious. I used canned pears from our pear tree I canned this past summer and that was easy. Also I added a packet of maple brown sugar oatmeal (quaker). This gave it a little more depth, and then I sprinkled cinnamon on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Made this pie yesterday. I had some ripe pears to use up and wanted something a litle different. It was awsome! The only things I did different was to add some cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger to the filling mixture, then sprinkled a little more cinnamon and chopped pecans on top. Propabaly this best pear pie I've ever had and soooo easy. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My hubby loved this recipe I added a few extra spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
yep, 1/3 c sugar, 1/3 cup butter, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and my family loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States