Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this pie a few days ago; I think the name of this recipe should be changed from "pear pie" to "pear custard." It was really delicious and really simple. I didn't see a need to peel the pears, so I didnt'; I just sliced them. Also, when making the custard, I added a small sprinkle of cinnamon and I reduced the amount of vanilla extract to a dash. Overall, it was really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was a very good dessert. Used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. It got a crusty top and left a hole where each pear was placed. it looked like a picture! Every one loved it. I put it in a tart pan and it looked quite awesome. It was super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great starting point. I took the advice of several reviewers and used 3 eggs and changed the sugar to 1/3 and the butter to 1/3 for a deep pie pan. Other recommendations:use soft Bartlett pears. I've made it with other pears and it doesn't work near as well. Also, before serving, refrigerate it. We had it at room temperature it was okay but once it was cooled, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
The recipe is quick, easy, and delicious. I used canned pears from our pear tree I canned this past summer and that was easy. Also I added a packet of maple brown sugar oatmeal (quaker). This gave it a little more depth, and then I sprinkled cinnamon on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Made this pie yesterday. I had some ripe pears to use up and wanted something a litle different. It was awsome! The only things I did different was to add some cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger to the filling mixture, then sprinkled a little more cinnamon and chopped pecans on top. Propabaly this best pear pie I've ever had and soooo easy. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My hubby loved this recipe I added a few extra spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
yep, 1/3 c sugar, 1/3 cup butter, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and my family loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Exquisite. I used 1/2 cup of sugar because the pears I used were very ripe. Mixed a very large teaspoon of cinnamon into the custard. I also used about 4 pears in the pie! Love my fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipie!! Can changes the pears for other fresh fruit. Always a crowd pelaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States