Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I started with kind of mushy pears, so I was worried this would be mushy and not good, but the custard firmed up the whole thing and the pears gave a really nice flavor. I served it on Thanksgiving, and got rave reviews. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a delicious pie! I sliced three pears and coated them with lemon juice then spread onto crust. I added 1tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the custard mixture. I meant to add salt, but forgot. I will add salt next time. After the custard was spread onto the pears I sprinkled with a little cinnamon and sugar. Cooking time was about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Bresette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Loved it! Easy to make and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Great receipe !! I added some brown sugar and cinnamon on top and came out amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Word to the wise, this is definitely a deep dish pie. I used two regular store-bought crusts and the pies overflowed all of the custard. Still looks good, but disappointing that it's not quite as 'custardy' as it's meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Aikman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was the 1st time making a Pear Pie and it was super easy! I halved and sliced the pears and added fresh lemon juice to it and sprinkled a bit of cinnamon....then followed the directions. It was a huge hit! Super quick and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great recipe!! I have a pear tree and have been trying to figure out what to do with the fruit. To soften the pears, I first diced them up and simmered them with a 1/2C of water on the stovetop. Once softened, I followed the recipe. Just a couple of substitutions as suggested by previous reviews: 1/3C butter (margarine) and 1/3C sugar. Also did 1/2T of almond extract and 1/2T vanilla and added some ground cinnamon. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This recipe was a success for me, a first for fruit pies I've tried to make. Because I live at a high elevation, fruit pies have turned out very soupy until now. This turned out with exactly the consistency I'd hoped for. I should also mention that this was a pretty forgiving recipe, since I didn't follow the techniques exactly (it being late in the evening and I was in a hurry), but I did use the exact ingredients and measurements. Pears are kind of a different fruit to have in a pie, but they tasted pretty good here (I think the ones I used were Bosc - I don't know my pears very well). Slices of this pie taste great when slightly warmed. I recommend this highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Very very good pie! I did change the butter/sugar amount because a whole cup of sugar would have been much too sweet. I only put in 1/3 cup sugar & 1/3 cup butter. I also sliced the pears & added blueberries & some cinnamon. Then I sprinkled the top of the pie with some sugar before baking. It was so good! You can really taste the fruit & the custard is really light and delicious. I will definitely be making this again and again! I'm sure you can add a number of fresh fruits to make it different each time. Very good with those minor changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yum! I made it dairy-free by replacing the butter with margarine and I used more pears than it said. It was delicious, and something different from your standard fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States