Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was the first pie I have ever made and it turned out perfect. In general, I don't bake, and after a bad cake experience, this is just what I needed for my baking-esteem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Whole family loved it. A great fruit pie with no top crust which means less work and it looks so tasty! I added about a cup of frozen cranberries and it made a beautiful holiday pie. I just made it with frozen peaches and raspberries and it was equally delicious. I will thoroughly thaw the peaches next time as it was a bit soggy but still looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I started with kind of mushy pears, so I was worried this would be mushy and not good, but the custard firmed up the whole thing and the pears gave a really nice flavor. I served it on Thanksgiving, and got rave reviews. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a delicious pie! I sliced three pears and coated them with lemon juice then spread onto crust. I added 1tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the custard mixture. I meant to add salt, but forgot. I will add salt next time. After the custard was spread onto the pears I sprinkled with a little cinnamon and sugar. Cooking time was about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Bresette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Loved it! Easy to make and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Great receipe !! I added some brown sugar and cinnamon on top and came out amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Word to the wise, this is definitely a deep dish pie. I used two regular store-bought crusts and the pies overflowed all of the custard. Still looks good, but disappointing that it's not quite as 'custardy' as it's meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was the 1st time making a Pear Pie and it was super easy! I halved and sliced the pears and added fresh lemon juice to it and sprinkled a bit of cinnamon....then followed the directions. It was a huge hit! Super quick and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great recipe!! I have a pear tree and have been trying to figure out what to do with the fruit. To soften the pears, I first diced them up and simmered them with a 1/2C of water on the stovetop. Once softened, I followed the recipe. Just a couple of substitutions as suggested by previous reviews: 1/3C butter (margarine) and 1/3C sugar. Also did 1/2T of almond extract and 1/2T vanilla and added some ground cinnamon. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This recipe was a success for me, a first for fruit pies I've tried to make. Because I live at a high elevation, fruit pies have turned out very soupy until now. This turned out with exactly the consistency I'd hoped for. I should also mention that this was a pretty forgiving recipe, since I didn't follow the techniques exactly (it being late in the evening and I was in a hurry), but I did use the exact ingredients and measurements. Pears are kind of a different fruit to have in a pie, but they tasted pretty good here (I think the ones I used were Bosc - I don't know my pears very well). Slices of this pie taste great when slightly warmed. I recommend this highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States