Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe and found it to be too sweet. It would be wonderful with half the sugar or smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy to prepare and very yummy, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This pie was just ok. I used 3 small pears and cut them up into pieces-two were over ripe and a little soft and one was less ripe and harder. The recipe needs more pears and they really need to be overripe since you end up with a lot of crust and not much liquid filling to soften them up. Also, it needs a little more butter and definitely some cinnamon sprinkled on the pears and on the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
One of the best pies I have ever made! This is so good, very fresh tasting and not to sweet. I loved it!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This was really quite good. It appealed to me because it was very easy to make it gluten free. I actually made it with Almond Milk and Gluten Free Flour, it looked lovely, I would add just a touch of cinnamon next time. I did sprinkle a few Butter Toffee Glazed Almond Accent Almonds on top, this really added to its appearance. I served it to company first time round which I normally would never do but Id just picked the pears off my tree and wanted to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Wonderful!!! Tasted like apple almost. The custard made this exceptionally good. I will make this again, definitely! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I tried it once with someone else's suggestion of using 3 eggs and only 1/3 cup of sugar, then I made it again using the original recipe (2 eggs, 1 cup sugar). Using 2 eggs and a whole cup of sugar was way better-tasting, for me. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this pie because I had pears about to go bad and I didn't want to waste them. I modified the recipe to be gluten free and added a little cinnamon. Just before I popped it in the oven I sprinkled some raw sugar crystals on top and they made it brown and taste like creme brule. WOW--so good. Why have I never made a pear pie before? I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Loved it! Second time around I used all changes that were in the reviews submitted. Mainly, used more pears and changed to brown sugar. Also, went to 1/3 cup butter. On a lark, spooned in three tablespoons of pear brandy before adding the filling. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States