Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this pie three times (once with apples) and the last version worked the best. Here is is:- Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Core four pears, slice thinly and arrange fan-style in layers around the unbaked pie shell. Cream 2 oz of butter with 1/3 cup of sugar. Add 2 beaten eggs and beat until light and fluffy. Carefully stir in 1/3 cup of flour. Add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence and 1/2 teaspoon almond essence. Beat the white of one egg until stiff peaks form, then use a metal spoon or knife to cut it into the flour mixture as if making a souffle. Spoon the mixture over the pears taking care so as not to deflate the air within it. Sprinkle lightly with cinammon. Place the pie on a wire cooling rack and bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 375 for a further 25 minutes, then lower heat to 350 degrees for a further 20 minutes (one hour in total). The pie is cooked when the top is golden brown and the custard is set. If liquid is visible the pie is not cooked. Remove the wire rack with the pie on it and allow it to cool completely before slicing. Take care when removing from the oven as the pie is fragile until cool. The result will be a 'frangipani' type of pear tart, with firm but soft fruit surrounded by a soft custard topped with a crisp slightly chewy and meringue like top. The recipe can be prepared in the same way with apples but it needs only about 40 minutes baking time, 15 minutes at 425 then 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irene
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have made this pie twice and it was much better the second time. The only thing i changed was that i used 6 pears. Will most deffenantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
i made this pie twice. Once as written and once with the following changes which i thought made it a five star pie. I used six small pears which i soaked in a couple tablespoons of brandy and sprinkled with cinnamon. As others did, i used 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Upped the eggs to 3 and then i topped the pie with a crumb topping prior to baking using 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter and 1 1/2 teas. cinnamon.(might have been slightly too much topping) Love the custard in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I thought this was ok. It certainly was nice to have a different type of fruit pie, however, I think I'll look for other pear recipes. I mad this for my husband, parents, and brother, and none of us thought it was really anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Really good. Made it this evening and everyone enjoyed it. But I did double the amount of pears. And after reading the reviews I followed some of them by drizzling the pears with lemon juice and adding a touch of nutmeg and cinnamon before adding them to the pie. My pie did need 55 minutes to cook perfectly. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great and EASY recipe. I let the pears rest in some rum, cinnamon, and nutmeg while I was preparing everything else. Only needed like 30 minutes to cook though, so keep your eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I doubled the pears, and added a sprinkling of brown sugar and cinnamon on top. Everyone thought the pie was goos, just lacking in flavor. My husband suggested soaking the pears in brandy before baking??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used a graham cracker crust made w/ cinnamon graham crackers. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
it was a hit in my office. i used 2t vanilla and 1t almond extract. also, changed the sugar and butter to 1/3c each. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States