Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Recipe didn't work for me. The top did not cook properly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Was a wonderful surprise to use up those left over pears you get in a big gift basket. Perfect as is recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The reviews all said to up the butter and lower the sugar. I ended up with a gross buttery mess. DO NOT up the butter to half cup as all it did was just ooze out of the cooled pie. I regret following users suggestions as the pie is not tasty at all. I did 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3 eggs (everything else the same). If I ever have over ripe pears on hand, I'll follow the recipe with maybe dropping the sugar a little to like 3/4 cup. I'm definitely bummed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is an outstanding pie! My wife says it is the best pie she has ever eaten. I sliced the pears but other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
A friend made this pie at a party and everyone loved it, so I got the recipe and made it as well. I got the same reaction. Everyone I have given this recipe to says the same thing. Its so easy and soo yummy. Finding this pie recipe was a game changer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDude909
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great pear pie. One of the best parts is when the custard near the top/edges caramelizes and has a great rich flavor. Like one reviewer, I used a cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, which made the flavor nice and rich, while still light. I also sliced the pears and arranged them in layers (pears, custard, pear, custard). This made it look really nice when serving slices and allows you to get a good custard/pear ratio throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe and found it to be too sweet. It would be wonderful with half the sugar or smaller servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy to prepare and very yummy, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This pie was just ok. I used 3 small pears and cut them up into pieces-two were over ripe and a little soft and one was less ripe and harder. The recipe needs more pears and they really need to be overripe since you end up with a lot of crust and not much liquid filling to soften them up. Also, it needs a little more butter and definitely some cinnamon sprinkled on the pears and on the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States