Pear Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I'm a pretty poor cook, a kitchen klutz and I've made this 3 times now. My whole family are astonished I can make anything this good. My kids beg me to make it. It comes out perfect every time and is so easy. Although the recipe is a little sweet for my liking so I use only 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanbello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Almond instead of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I found this pie a little too bland. I used pear and honeycrisp apple, that was my only variation. Its also a bit runny, I let it cool but maybe I didn't wait until it was completely cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made according to directions, except for fitting gaps with another pear. Really delicious. Maybe a little sweet--but the pears and the crust help that. A big hit--and a great way to use up the pears I bought for after Christmas dinner (that nobody ate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by p0o0o0h
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this with ~2 medium sized bosc pears sliced thinly, 1/4 cup sugar, 3 eggs, 1/4 cup butter. This was just the right amount of sweetness for my family (we don't like desserts overwhelmingly powered by sugar.) I used a regular pie crust and the filling was not enough to go to the top. I would definitely add more custard filling next time and alternate layers of sliced pears with custard instead of pouring custard just on top. Delicious and easy recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Love this pie try adding 1/4 almond extract for a change both ways are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Discovered after my pears were peeled and ready to go that I had no vanilla left, so I used cinnamon instead. Came out delicious. Used 4 large pears, which I sliced like the current photo shows. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I baked this, as written, with the exception of one of the eggs having an extra yolk. The flavor was delicious, especially right out of the oven. However, the custard didn't properly set. I baked it for 50 minutes, since the top began to get dark. I would definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I have only tried this recipe this once and I changed it so much I'm not sure how to rate the original. I am infamous for not following directions. I do although love to get a starting point from searching recipes. I used this recipe only I used 6 overripe pears and I peeled and sliced them. I used the directions for the cream only I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2t nutmeg. I then threw in a handful of pecans and a handful of craisins. It was really good. So good it led me to want to try the filling in a crisp recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States