Pear Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Good pie! I also used brown sugar and only half the almond extract + vanilla. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by do_bi_do
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
It was my first time making a custard pie and it turned out very delicious! My mother can't have too much sugar so i used half a cup this time and it tasted great - it made room for the flavor of the pears. I would take out the pie when the custard is just starting to firm, as i overcooked mine a bit. But it all depends on what your preference is for the custard - i like mine tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was awesome!! Brought it into work, a co-worker said this was probably the best thing I'd ever brought in. My only tip would be, definitely use a homemade crust, not one of those store bought frozen ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Delious & easy to make; tested today and found it a bit sweet. Only used 2 large pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Delicious. Followed the suggestions of others re using brown sugar and half vabilla half almond essence. Did not bake in a pie crust - did not want the extra calories, and although did not serve up quite as attractivly as a result, was still very tasty indeed. I might next time add some cinnamon as well?? Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My husband brought a pack of fresh pears, i have no idea how to get rid of them because I dont eat them. As I decided to do something, i found this recipe, Goody lord, my husband is in love with this pear pie II, he said this taste better than apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe was good. However, I followed one of the reviewer's recipe. I used 6 pears, 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Next time, I think I would use cinnamin in the custard. I did sprinkle cinnamin and sugar on the top of the pie once it came out of the oven. It gave it a little more flavor. My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
A wonderful way to use all of the pears from our trees! I have made it 2 ways, once with almond extract and once with vanilla and a sprinkle of cinnamon- the vanilla version definitley got more votes in my household! I also sprinkled a bit of cinnamon sugar on top for color- it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is a delicious pie! I never thought of combining pears with a custard pie, but it is perfect. I think it's a great dessert for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galien, Michigan, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This pie was alright...it takes a while to get used to that eggy flavour, but it was really between three and four stars. My hubby didn't like it at first, but the next day he finished the whole thing himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States