Pear Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great way to use up almost-gone pears. I did use more than the recipe called for-- 5 instead of 3-- simply because that is what I had laying around and they were smallish. It worked beautifully. Used vanilla instead of almond, and it still came out superb. I was nervous about a custard filling being fiddly, but it was a breeze-- great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
It was easy and taste was very good.I used apples.I had to make 2 each time does not last long here.Thank you TNMARTIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My family loved it, I only used 1/2 cup sugar and put pears on the botttom of the pie . would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I didn't have almond extact...I used vanilla. I had to hold my son and myself to not eat the whole thing in one night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Definitely add about 1 tsp vanilla extract. Otherwise, a yummy way to use up some pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
this is very good and at my house it was gone in two days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was really yummy. Both the crust & the custard were great but the custard was a little too sweet for my taste so I will reduce the amount of sugar next time. Also, I will make my pear slices bigger next time as my small ones sunk very quickly into the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Hayles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I have made this several times now, with different ready-bought crusts, and it always comes out yummy!! The only thing I change is I use half the sugar, but that's a personal preference. One time I really wanted pie but all I had around was canned pineapple, so I used that instead of pears... works great! So fast and easy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Excellent, everyone loves this recipe when I make it. They can't figure out what it is, it's just too good. Substituted honey for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was very pretty, but not as tasty as it looked. I found it bland and there was not enough pear flavor. The almond was good, and I added vanilla, but it needed something more - perhaps cinnamon? It also needs a higher filling to crust ratio. I'd recommend Pear Pie III on this site if you want something similar, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States