Pear Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This pie was delicious. Used 3 pears like the recipe says and it had a wonderful pear taste. Also used the combination of almond and vanilla flavorings. Will make this again. Guests also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
although it tasted good, mine came out very runny- i only baked it for 25 minutes. i used 2/3 c brown sugar and 1/3 c white. next time i would do 1/2 c. brown only since it came out too sweet. i also did 1/2 tsp almond extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract which was nice. this pie has potential and looks beautiful before and after baking- i hope i find a way to make this un-runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Awesome! I used 5 or 6 pears just because I was trying to use them up. Now I wish I had made 2 pies instead of one. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This pie turned out amazing. I also changed the 1 teaspoon of almond extract to 1/2 teaspoon almond and half vanilla extract. Will definitely make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I wasn't a huge fan of this pie. The almond extract flavour was too overpowering and I couldn't taste the pear flavour at all. If I were to make this pie again I would cut the almond extract way down and add more pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was very good! My husband loved it! ate a whole fourth of it in the first sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My son and I share alot of the cooking duties at our house and today we made this together. I made the pastry shell, and he did the rest. He is a novice cook, but this pie was easy and might i add, Delish, the flavor is very subtle, delicate on the pallet. A very nice change from over the top, packed full of flavor desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My son said, "I like pie" as he was eating this. My hubby said it reminded him of the rhubarb custard pie his mom made when he was growing up. I thought the pie was really flavorful. I sprinkled the top of the pie with cinnamon and sugar for a little extra color and flavor. The pie was pretty sweet, so next time I think I'll cut the sugar to 3/4 c. The custard was a bit firmer than most custard pies. I might add a 1/4 c. cream next time; although my husband liked it just as it was. I defintely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
wonderful! easy to make and gets rave reviews everytime I serve it-thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very simple to make and delicious. My guests thought it was elegant. Beautiful presentation, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States