Pear Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I liked this, and made it exactly as written, using Bartlett pears, except that the amount of filling seemed too much, so I only put at most 6 pears' worth of the mixture in the pie. In retrospect, it "cooked down" a bit, so I was probably too conservative. This was also, I think, the first time I'd ever tried a double-crust pie. I used store-bought refrigerated pie crusts, and technically my double-crust technique was a mess - I have a lot to learn. This was nice, but I've made another single-crust pear pie recipe from this site a couple of times, and I think I liked that one better. I did, however, share this with several friends, and they liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe is good, very much like apple pie. To make it a bit more exciting, however, I made a crumb topping out of 1/2 c. oats, 3 TBS brown sugar, 2 TBS melted butter and a dash of salt, instead of a top layer of pie crust. It came out very good! I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TnTDunn
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
AMAZING! This was fantastic! Only had 7 little pears and it did not make a very big pie but it was the best pie I have tried in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnTDunn
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing! This pie is always a favourite. The second time I made it I didn't have enough pears so I added some apples instead and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made 2 of these when we had some friends and family over, and everyone gave rave reviews, even though the fam is pretty critical. I made one with a lattice top crust, and one with a crumble top. Preferred the lattice top; crumble was a little too sweet. Doubled the spices and am glad I did. I used the brown sugar as so many suggested, but I thought it made things a little sticky and gooey and not as light as the white probably would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I had an abundance of ripe pears i had to do something with quick! this was one of the things i made with them and it turned out being my grandpas favorite pie! no one had ever heard of pear pie but it was a huge hit! will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicca90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Easy and yummy. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Delicious! Doubled the spices, used 1/4c white & 1/4c brown sugar. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
The idea of a pear pie is aswesome! Tried this for Thanksgiving and after all the talk my family was excited to try. Unfortunately, the lemon juice was TOO tart to enjoy the pie. Great consistancy but the taste needed something to cut it. Also, the topping came out like paste. I had to doctor it up with bread crumbs, butter and pecans to get a sprinkle effect :O(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States