Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
YUM YUM !!! This is the first recipe in which I didn't use store bought pectin. I cooked it for 2 hrs on low after first boil and it is perfect- It set up nicely and taste is like honey. The only thing I changed was I added 2 T lemon juice. Scorching will occur if not stirred frequently- I do not recommend using stainless steel pot- I had to baby it every 5-10 mins. My husband loves honey and he loves this. Thanks for this great recipe. Reminds me of my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This looks great and I have 4 pear trees all loaded this year, but I am alergic to pineapple, is there another fruit juice with the same sort of enzymes that would work in this recipe, I am thinking the pineapple has a part in breaking down the hard pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very ripe pears is the secret but try adding 1/4 cup of rum to the recipe when it is just finished cooking. This puts an 'adult' flavour to it that can't be beat. I add this 'adult' Honey to the bottom layer of apple crisp, pear crisp or even fruit pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
We didn't care for the texture or taste. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moselle, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
3rd year making this-it's my favorite. Try it on a hot buttered biscuit-it's probably the best thing you've ever put in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Pace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I loved loved loved this! I had lots of pears to use at the first of September and found it very easy, even making a double batch. I've had half of my Christmas presents ready three months ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I tried to do this, but instead of cooking on the stove, I used my crockpot. Horrid results. The pears never did break down (and they were very ripe) and the juice did not thicken up at all. I had to throw the entire batch out. I guess I should have cooked it on the stove per the directions given. Oh well, lesson learned. Hated it though that I wasted so many pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I just finished making a double batch of this honey. I cooked it on medium high until it boiled and then on medium low for an hour. Then to medium to finish it up. It cooked a total of 2 1/2 hours, until it "sheeted". I stirred it frequently. It tastes great and it made 22 half pints. I can not wait to try this in my daughters favorite recipe, honey glazed chicken wings! Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Now what to do with the 3 bags of pears I have left. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyquilter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I was so amazed that I could make honey. This is a wonderful treat, and I love it. Thank goodness my in laws have pear trees so I can always make this for my husband and myself, as well as others. I plan to make it for little gifts for the holidays. I made it the first time, and cooked for two hours as suggested. That was way to long tho. I have to melt it in the microwave to get it to melt and eat. The second and third time I made it however, I cut the cooking time down to one hour. PERFECT!!!!!!! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe and has been a huge hit as holiday gifts. I have friends asking for more every year. The cookings instructions listed cause the bottom to burn. If you are patient bring it to the boil over med-high heat, then instead of cooking it on medium for 2 hours, simmer it for 3 and be sure to stir frequently. This has helped reduce the burning SIGNIFICANTLY! I also use about 1/2 or less of the sugar required. Reducing the sugar brings out more of the pear flavor and isn't so grossly sweet. If you like overly sweet honey then by all means use the total sugar listed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States