Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Quite nice and easy to make. I made mine in the crockpot overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Instead of doing on the stove I did I crockpot for about 20hrs...came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen VanDeusen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Very tasty recipe, I made it as a vegan honey alternative. I made a batch using only 1 1/2 cups of pears (i.e. 2 pears), and it took maybe 1 hour and 20 minutes to finish. However, even though I finely chopped my pears, not all of them broke down. If you're doing a smaller batch, PLEASE put the pears in a blender or food processor before cooking! I tried processing it after and it puffed up, leaving me stuck with pear...icing. Batch ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made pear honey with my mother in law. She didn't use a recipe and I thought that I could remember it. When she passed and I longed to make it again, I wasn't sure of the proportions so I looked it up. This is very similar and just as delicious as hers. The misnomer here is it should be called pear honey preserves, as the goal isn't to have it look just like honey. The chunky pear pieces make it spectacular. The challenge is to find local pears just shy of ripe. You want them quite firm. She chopped them into 1/4" cubes and added 1 whole clove for every cup of sugar (removed before canning). It is a slow, long cooking that thickens the syrup - so when you lift the spoon out of the pot, it doesn't all come off. That's when it's done - and I always hope the pears keep a little firm, just like hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Llott0

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
THIS IS REALLY GOOD!! IN TH FRIDGE IT IS LIKE LOSE JELLY... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My pears just wouldn't completely dissolve, so the syrup has a slightly overcooked taste. I ended up straining out the bits. I wish I had given up on completely dissolving them a little earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Could you make this with apples in place of pears?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
After reading all the other posts, I decided to minimize the risk of the pears not breaking down by running them through my food processor first. I couldn't find any pineapple juice in the three stores I checked (I know, what is this world coming to...?) I checked out some other recipes and some called for crushed pineapple. So, I added a can of crushed pineapple, and following the advice of wildflower I used half white and half brown sugar. I cooked it slow and low, and it was an immediate hit with everyone! The texture was a little more like a thin applebutter. My next batch, I was a little short on the amount of pears I had pureed, so I grabbed a few more pears and as I was getting ready to throw them in the processor bowl, realized they wouldn't blend well with only that small amount. My Ninja system has an individual cup blender attachment, so I put the last few pears in it. They were totally smooth in a matter of seconds! I decided to run the rest of the batch through it, and the resulting product really was just like a honey consistency! Any of those single serve drink blenders will probably work great. Cook long enough to thicken down, and you will really believe in this as a honey alternative flavor. It's great on toast, waffles, ice cream, or anything we've tried it on. I took a jar with me to my favorite restaurant to use on their scones, and the owner asked what it was. I let her try it, and she immediately asked for the recipe... Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Good, but a little hard to get out of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States