Pear Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Could you make this with apples in place of pears?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
After reading all the other posts, I decided to minimize the risk of the pears not breaking down by running them through my food processor first. I couldn't find any pineapple juice in the three stores I checked (I know, what is this world coming to...?) I checked out some other recipes and some called for crushed pineapple. So, I added a can of crushed pineapple, and following the advice of wildflower I used half white and half brown sugar. I cooked it slow and low, and it was an immediate hit with everyone! The texture was a little more like a thin applebutter. My next batch, I was a little short on the amount of pears I had pureed, so I grabbed a few more pears and as I was getting ready to throw them in the processor bowl, realized they wouldn't blend well with only that small amount. My Ninja system has an individual cup blender attachment, so I put the last few pears in it. They were totally smooth in a matter of seconds! I decided to run the rest of the batch through it, and the resulting product really was just like a honey consistency! Any of those single serve drink blenders will probably work great. Cook long enough to thicken down, and you will really believe in this as a honey alternative flavor. It's great on toast, waffles, ice cream, or anything we've tried it on. I took a jar with me to my favorite restaurant to use on their scones, and the owner asked what it was. I let her try it, and she immediately asked for the recipe... Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Good, but a little hard to get out of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Turned a dark orange color. Very thick, super sweet & difficult to distinguish any pear flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a grate recipe .I grated the pears and added a can. Of crushed pineapple the last 25 min of cooking ... I didn't. Use the pineapple juice. It was wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe. This is a keeper, tasted so great! However, I did a few different things. I added freshly ground ginger and freshly ground nutmeg. I also cooked it in my crockpot. I put a tea towel under the top to keep the condensation from dripping back into the jam. I put it on high for about 4 to 6 hours. Towards the end I set the lid ajar so as to thicken the honey. This freed me from constant stirring and kept the kitchen cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I use this annually and add cinnamon to some of my batches. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I haven't tried this yet, as just finished making applesauce, but will try it soon. Thank you so much for the recipe. gma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
very yummy and you really cant tell the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is my second year making this as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved it the first time and it was requested again and again. I used a mixture of Bartlett, D'Anjou and Bosc pears, 24 pears in all to make a double batch. I ended up with around 12 cups of pears for each recipe so I increased the pineapple juice to 1 and half cups and I also reduced the sugar to 6 cups as it is very sweet. I pulsed the pears in my food processor before cooking and at the 2 hour mark I pulled some of the mixture out and gave it a whirl in the blender. I like some chunks of pear but not a lot so this worked perfectly. I have never had problems with it burning but I do keep a close watch on it and stir often. Can't wait to have some on my fresh baked bread Christmas Eve morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States