Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This will be the fourth year I've made this, but is anyone else having a problem with the consistency? It's always too thin. Should I add a packet of gelatin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I only gave three stars because I did not like the taste of honey with the cranberries. It was too much, I might try again minus the honey and add more sugar. I like the pears with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
A wonderful addition to any Thanksgiving feast! I followed others' suggestions and sub. orange juice for the water and used an extra pear...perfect sweetness to counter tart cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very good, sweet but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Loved this sauce! I didn't think I would like the honey but it went so well with the pears. I am ashamed to admit I was eating this by the spoonful. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Holy Cow! This recipe is simply divine! The flavors blend so beautifully together, creating a new twist on an old favorite. My husband loved it. He tried it along with another recipe and preferred this one hands down. I used Splenda instead of sugar and no one noticed. I used canned light pears instead of fresh and cooked the cranberries longer than recommended.... about 15 minutes. After refrigerating for a couple of hours it took on a jellied consistency that rivaled the canned version (which I love) but the flavor was far superior to any canned variety. This recipe is a keeper. I will be making it again at Christmas! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This will be my fifth year using this recipe. I love it and it's fun to make :) I add a bit of orange zest and a cinnamon stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I had a similar recipe to this. Adding the lemon is a definite taste bonus. This is the definite side I bring for Mom's turkey. Everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I've never cared too much for cranberry sauce, but this recipe changed my mind. Made it for Thanksgiving last year and got rave reviews. The pear cuts some of the tartness of the cranberries and the honey adds an unexpected sweetness. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was really tasty. I actually made quite a few changes, so maybe I shouldn't be reviewing it at all, but I really appreciated the fact that this had very little white sugar. In fact next time I might try using honey only. As it was I used a very strong honey, so I only used 1/2 c and left the amount of white sugar at 1/2 c as well. I added about 1/2 c of chopped walnuts and replaced the lemon juice/zest with orange. It made the house smell lovely and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States