Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MF6190
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I followed the original recipe exactly (minus one cup of honey) and everyone loved it. I read the comments AFTER making the dish and agree with most of them. In my dish, there was just the right amount of honey taste, IMO, so adding that extra cup would've been too much. Also, it definitely tastes better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MF6190

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Amazing recipe! Perfect (to me)exactly as the recipe is written, but it's easily tweaked depending on your preferences. My family has requested this for 3 years now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bunniesandbaking
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This sauce is a great template and can be modified depending on your own tastes. While I did enjoy the sauce, it was because I had made a couple changes to the recipe. First, I used half a cup of honey and 3/4 cup of sugar instead of one cup of honey and half cup of sugar because I thought that half a cup of honey was already quite strong. I didn't add too much lemon zest, as I didn't want it to smell and taste like dish detergent and instead of a pear, I used an apple. Unless you are a big honey fan, I would not recommend using the full amount of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Love this version of cranberry sauce. The pears add so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Every year I make a different cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving because we are not big fans of it and want to try something new. I made this yesterday; followed the advise of some of the reviewers... added two extra pears cooked in orange juice instead of water and reduced the sugar. I refrigerated overnight. We tasted it today and it was very good. I am sure the guests tomorrow will enjoy it as much as we did. Thanks for sharing, Sue S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My sister made this on Thanksgiving and my parents loved it, and couldn't stop raving about it. Most of the rest of my family enjoyed it, too. The only change she made was to use apple in place of pear. I didn't try it, but according to everyone else it was a little bit too sweet. Next time we will reduce either the sugar or honey. Thanks so much for sharing!! If my mom has anything to say about it, it will become a new holiday tradition:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I was excited to try this different twist to cranberry sauce especially with ingredients I know I like, but all-in-all I didn't really care for it. The taste of honey really overpowered the other ingredients. I'm not a picky eater either. I used fresh cranberries, Kroger's brand of honey, and the pears were tasty by themselves, so maybe the store brand of honey was my mistake, who knows.... Most likely won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving to do a) something different with Cranberries, and b) try to have a cranberry sauce that has no sugar. I know honey is sugar, but it's different, and it made my wife happier using honey. In any event, this came out great!! Great flavor, great mixture. I'll keep this and make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I just made this for Thanksgiving dinner tonight, as my family loves homemade cranberry sauces but rarely actually make them. I thought this gelled nicely after about 10-15 minutes of cooking, and the scent of the honey was very nice. I added just a touch of cinnamon for some extra flavor. I do find it a little bit too sweet for my tastes, as I prefer my cranberries a bit on the tart side, but we'll see what the verdict is at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States