Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
***Just an update to urge you to try this recipe. I always add more pears and also cook it at least 15-20 minutes to pop all the cranberries, thicken it, and to bring out the beautiful color. It is the perfect cranberry sauce and one of my favorite recipes from this site!***Thanks to mail order Christmas gifts, I always have an abundance of pears in the dead of winter. I found this on Allrecipes 2 years ago and it is a perfect combo of pears and cranberries. I have made it for holiday dinners and never get tired of it. It is so simple and so good. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was AWESOME! I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. My brother and his wife RAVED about it. They don't generally like cranberry sauce, but they both had seconds. My wife and kids liked it as well. I did follow the suggestions of others to cook in orange juice instead of water, I also cooked the berries first and let them "pop" in the orange juice and sugar. I simmered them for about 10-15 minutes before adding the pears. The pears and the honey go VERY nicely with this sauce. Also, my wife really wanted some oranges in the sauce, so I chopped up an orange and added it when I added the pears. This was VERY YUMMY. I mixed up another batch for Christmas dinner, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Holy Cow! This recipe is simply divine! The flavors blend so beautifully together, creating a new twist on an old favorite. My husband loved it. He tried it along with another recipe and preferred this one hands down. I used Splenda instead of sugar and no one noticed. I used canned light pears instead of fresh and cooked the cranberries longer than recommended.... about 15 minutes. After refrigerating for a couple of hours it took on a jellied consistency that rivaled the canned version (which I love) but the flavor was far superior to any canned variety. This recipe is a keeper. I will be making it again at Christmas! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Love this! I added a tbp. of Grand Marnier & used orange zest & juice. I did as GrannyLouHoo & cooked for just a bit longer to get the cranberries good & cooked. Loved the pear flavor! I think it helps cut through the tartness of the cranberries. I'll copy Granny & put this in a pretty crystal bowl only I'll garnish it w/ some orange zest. Thansk Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this cranberry sauce for our Christmas Day dinner. Had several comments from guests who do not ordinarily like cranberry sauce, but had a taste of this and came back for more. The only change I made was to sub orange juice for the water, and I cooked it for about 15-20 minutes until the pears were cooked through and the cranberries had popped and were blended in well. Thank you, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good cranberry sauce. I went with a few reviewer's suggestions to use orange juice instead of water, and I'm glad I did. I love the added pear and honey flavor, but it's a bit much on the honey--I'd halve it next time since it's a bit too sweet--too sweet even for the bf. Otherwise, though, this is definitely a lovely cranberry sauce and worth repeating. I also cooked for about 20 minutes to allow for all of the cranberries to pop. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was really tasty. I actually made quite a few changes, so maybe I shouldn't be reviewing it at all, but I really appreciated the fact that this had very little white sugar. In fact next time I might try using honey only. As it was I used a very strong honey, so I only used 1/2 c and left the amount of white sugar at 1/2 c as well. I added about 1/2 c of chopped walnuts and replaced the lemon juice/zest with orange. It made the house smell lovely and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this recipe for Thansgiving and for my holiday potluck at work. Everyone loved it so I am making this for Christmas dinner too! I also experinemented a little and added about a tsp of vanilla extract and cinnamon and about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg at the same time as the honey and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
My husband is a devoted cranberry sauce fan and boy did he LOVE this recipe. I've brought it to our large family Thanksgiving feast 2 years running now and everybody comments that it is the best they've ever had. Try it out (I make it exactly to recipe) you won't be disappointed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILYFONTES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Previous experience making homemade cranberry sauce told me I'd have to cook this a little longer than the recipe directed, a good 15 minutes. Thus far I've only made cranberry sauce with basic variations - the addition of orange juice and zest, or brown sugar instead of white. Hubs is the cranberry sauce lover in this family and while this variation won't take the place of the traditional style for him, he did enjoy it. The lemon juice and zest coupled with the honey create a balanced and fresh flavor of sweet and tart. The pears were a creative addition that seemed to round out and mellow the flavor of the bold cranberries. It was fun to try and I was more than pleased with the unique and delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States