Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Am I the only person who eat cranberry sauce when it's not fall or winter?? :) This was very good. I added a dash of cinnamon. And I did not have any lemon zest so I doubled up on the lemon juice. I also used raw sugar. I boiled the cranberries for 15-20 minutes to get a thicker sauce. I have tried many different cranberry sauce recipes over the years, and this one is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
What a wonderful recipe, this was the first time I ever made cranberry sauce. I am not a lover of it but decided to try it and it is beautiful. For those people who don't like the sauce style try making it into a jelly. Once it was cooked I just used my hand blender to whip it up and then strained it. I then added 1 packet of gelatine and whipped it again then put in small containers to cool in the fridge. Once cooled I put the ones i did not use for the dinner in the freezer. They turned out beautiful. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and was greatly pleased with the results. The combination of flavors is excellent! I did however allow the cranberries to cook 15-20 minutes vs 5 mins (as suggested by others) to really allow the sauce to thicken and bring out the rich color. Everyone enjoyed this recipe on Thanksgiving so I am now making it again for Christmas dinner. Thanks so much for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is without a doubt the best recipe for cranberry sauce that I have ever tasted. I made it for family at Thanksgiving and it went over so well that I made a double recipe and sealed up four 1/2-pint jars (water bath) and put the remainder in the freezer. I did reduce the honey by half and doubled the sugar as other reviewers and I thought it was a perfect balance. Thank you Sue for such a great recipe. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Good quick and easy recipe. Honey flavor is definitely discernible, which can be good or bad depending on your taste. I may try again with orange juice, as other reviewers have suggested, and I think this will improve it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I have never cared for cranberry sauce, and in looking for something that is different than what I am used to, I tried this recipe. It was a huge hit. The flavor is great. It was perfect and I still have leftovers which is good for me. It was a great dish in my totally from scratch Thanksgiving. Thanks...it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I thought this was wonderful. I grew up eating cranberry sauce out of a can and this was my first homemade version. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Wow. I've never really been a fan of cranberry sauce. My family typically slices up a can of the jellied stuff. Not this year!! I made it last night and froze it. Subbed orange juice for the water, simmered everything (but the lemon zest and juice) for 15 minutes, then added the zest and lemon juice. It's VERY sweet and VERY tangy and absolutely beautfiul looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I don't know why I haven't reviewed this before! This will be the third year in a row I've been asked to bring this dish to Thanksgiving dinner. Not everyone in my family likes cranberry sauce, but those that do ask for this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I thought this was good, next time I would add a little cinnamon and maybe ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States