Pear Honey Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I did follow the advice of others and made a few changes. I used 1/2 cup of honey, 3/4 cup sugar and substituted orange juice for the water. I used 3 bosc pears and eliminated the lemon juice and zest. I simmered for about 20 minutes until most of the cranberries had popped. I tried it after it had cooled off a bit. It was good but definitely tasted better the next day. I have eaten it on toast, served it over cream cheese with crackers and actually as cranberry sauce with a nice chicken dinner. Love that this is so versatile. Don't the let the ingredients scare you...it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hendrika

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Amazing! I'll never put the canned stuff on the table again! I used agave instead of the honey and the pot that's on the stove right now has apple and pear in it. Not too sweet and not too tart ... very simple flavors. If you're like me and hate orange with your cranberries, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuzuspetals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
WAY TOO SWEET ELIMINATE SUGAR AND HONEY Just double pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Previous experience making homemade cranberry sauce told me I'd have to cook this a little longer than the recipe directed, a good 15 minutes. Thus far I've only made cranberry sauce with basic variations - the addition of orange juice and zest, or brown sugar instead of white. Hubs is the cranberry sauce lover in this family and while this variation won't take the place of the traditional style for him, he did enjoy it. The lemon juice and zest coupled with the honey create a balanced and fresh flavor of sweet and tart. The pears were a creative addition that seemed to round out and mellow the flavor of the bold cranberries. It was fun to try and I was more than pleased with the unique and delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The recipe called for too much honey for my taste. When I made it with 1/2 cup honey and 3/4 cup sugar it was perfect. Definitely the best cranberry sauce I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! It had a specific, special taste that you may find at the Ritz or the Waldorf on their holiday menu. No trouble to make. I used fresh cranberrys that required closer to 20 minutes cooking time rather than 5. If you make this, your guests will rave. Mine did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Way too sweet for my tastebuds. Next time I would cut the honey to 1/4 cup and add another pear as the pear and cranberry work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was delish! I doubled the recipe but added 1 extra pear and used orange juice and zest instead of lemon. I read the other reviews and cooked the cranberries for 15-20 minutes, and it turned out great. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana848

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was a real hit at Thanksgiving this year but I'm glad I made it early. My wife and I tasted it shortly after cooking and almost pitched it. Needs a day or two in the fridge for the flavors to blend and mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paradise Lost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
WAY too much honey and lemon. It's too tart with a sickly honey sweet. Not a keeper here. *Update* Two days later - the strangest thing, it's GREAT! I'm updating my one star to four! The first day it was just TOO much everything, but we kept it and it was a little better the next day and even better today. Wow! Next year, I'll make it again (using less honey) but I'll make it two days before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States