Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
In fear of a dry cake I covered the oats with water and soaked them while I prepared everything else. I also noticed that the batter seemed dry, I only used 2 eggs, so I added a little milk. I also added other spices, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and cloves. It turned out great. Not at all dry and can't even tell there are oats in it! ...ok, thinking it over I made a lot of changes which I will share so you too can enjoy this cake...only used 1/2C. Wheat flour, in addition to the white, also didn't use a whole cup of oats, 1C. White sugar and 1/2 brown instead of all brown, 1/2C melted coconut oil and 1/3C Apple sauce. I dumped the pear on top once the batter was in the dish (9x13) and just pushed it down into the batter. I didn't want all the pear at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I have made this a few times now. My family and I really enjoy it. One tip; use very ripe or over ripened pears. If you don't your cake will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this and it was a little dry. I tried again with pears that were more ripe. Second time with riper pears and it was yummy perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
i agree, bake 60 minutes. the texture is different with the ww flour and oatmeal. I made a ligt lemon glaze and poured over it while warm and it enhanced the pear flavor. the second day it was more moist and the texture was not as "rough". I will definitely make this cake again, it is really delicious. I used Keifer pears picked from the backyard tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I followed directions exactly. Found the cake to look good but was very dry and crumbly - not moist like I had hoped. Not much flavor either. disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I used 5 or 6 very ripe medium-sized pears. I also covered it in a basic vanilla glaze. When the cake was still warm, it was very moist. But after it cooled off, it became much drier, and not nearly as tasty. I was disappointed. A couple of days later, it was pretty good slightly reheated with some milk poured over. Overall, I probably would not go for this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great cake! My husband & I loved it! I used two large pears going bad in the refrigerator (more than 1-1/2 cups) which I just chopped up into chunks. I also didn't have whole wheat flour so I used all white flour. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piques
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This cake was fantastic. I am not sure where all of these reviews came from complaining of it being too dry and crumbly. I can only imagine that pears people used were not the juiciest. I chose this recipe because I had two pears about to be reduced to mush they were so ripe. My cake was delicious and moist even the next day. My only alteration was the addition of ginger. Yum, Yum. I also paired this with the Caramel frosting VI recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Based on the other reviews I decided to bake the cake for a shorter time about 45 min. and I added about 3/4 cup of applesauce, when the cake come out I brushed the cake with melted butter. I believe these attempts kept the cake moist. I also added cream cheese frosting while the cake was still warm. End result mmm good, reminded me of spice cake. Update: I just had another piece of cake after it had cooled and it did turn out dry like cornbread. I'm baffled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phillip344

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I had very high hopes for this recipe... but it turned out so bland and plain. I added 1/2 c applesauce (to keep it from drying out) and it was still pretty dry. I think I’ll try it again and make some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJKreut
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States