Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I have made this a few times now. My family and I really enjoy it. One tip; use very ripe or over ripened pears. If you don't your cake will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this and it was a little dry. I tried again with pears that were more ripe. Second time with riper pears and it was yummy perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
i agree, bake 60 minutes. the texture is different with the ww flour and oatmeal. I made a ligt lemon glaze and poured over it while warm and it enhanced the pear flavor. the second day it was more moist and the texture was not as "rough". I will definitely make this cake again, it is really delicious. I used Keifer pears picked from the backyard tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I followed directions exactly. Found the cake to look good but was very dry and crumbly - not moist like I had hoped. Not much flavor either. disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I used 5 or 6 very ripe medium-sized pears. I also covered it in a basic vanilla glaze. When the cake was still warm, it was very moist. But after it cooled off, it became much drier, and not nearly as tasty. I was disappointed. A couple of days later, it was pretty good slightly reheated with some milk poured over. Overall, I probably would not go for this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great cake! My husband & I loved it! I used two large pears going bad in the refrigerator (more than 1-1/2 cups) which I just chopped up into chunks. I also didn't have whole wheat flour so I used all white flour. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piques
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This cake was fantastic. I am not sure where all of these reviews came from complaining of it being too dry and crumbly. I can only imagine that pears people used were not the juiciest. I chose this recipe because I had two pears about to be reduced to mush they were so ripe. My cake was delicious and moist even the next day. My only alteration was the addition of ginger. Yum, Yum. I also paired this with the Caramel frosting VI recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Based on the other reviews I decided to bake the cake for a shorter time about 45 min. and I added about 3/4 cup of applesauce, when the cake come out I brushed the cake with melted butter. I believe these attempts kept the cake moist. I also added cream cheese frosting while the cake was still warm. End result mmm good, reminded me of spice cake. Update: I just had another piece of cake after it had cooled and it did turn out dry like cornbread. I'm baffled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phillip344

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I had very high hopes for this recipe... but it turned out so bland and plain. I added 1/2 c applesauce (to keep it from drying out) and it was still pretty dry. I think I’ll try it again and make some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJKreut
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Could have been slightly more moist but an overall treat. Used a brown sugar sauce and it complimented quite nicely. I was looking for a more peary flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States