Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is real good.. a little too sweet, but I blame that on my very ripe, dripping sweetness pears. I think next time I'll hold back on the sugar a little depending on their ripeness. This was worth the time and effort and it used up some surplus of extra pears from the tree, If I were to have a choice of my sweet bread recipes, I would stick with the zucchini bread. That's my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandoo4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this bread twice. The 1st time following the directions exactly. The 2nd time, I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 unsweetened applesauce, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger. I did not peel the pears and this was fine. Both ways, the bread came out delicious. Great recipe, I am making again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Super delicious and VERY popular among my coworkers. Made a few healthy changes: Used 2 eggs, 1/2 c veg oil and replaced the rest with fresh applesauce I made using 2 apples. Used 4 pears, small chopped (instead of measuring w/cups). Reduced the sugar by half. Used allspice instead of nutmeg. It cooked in an hour and tasted amazing. Thanks so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I added a pinch of cloves for a little extra something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe is super easy and really good. As others suggested, I used 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I also increased the spices (2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. freshly ground nutmeg, and 1 tsp. ginger) as that is my personal preferance. I used pears that were still a little hard, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this tonight with my daughter, half of it in muffins. It was easy to make, and the consistency of it was wonderful. I added more cinnamon and a little bit of ground cloves to it, and I've already eaten three of the muffins! Looking forward to having it for breakfast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
No one liked it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very satisfying and moist bread. To cut calories and fat, I substituted half of the oil for applesauce, 1/2 cup of the flour for ground flaxseed, half of the white sugar for Splenda brown sugar,and used 2 eggs instead of 3. Came out great...will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Had 3 very ripe pears, which helped turn this into a very moist delish cake. Used half apple sauce and half oil and half brown and half white sugars as recommended by others, and baked in a bunt pan. My office will delight in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This recipe uses about 5 good sized pears. I read all the reviews and substituted (like others about 1/2) brown sugar, whole wheat flour, applesauce. Couldn't wait till it cooled 10 minutes on the wire rack...we ate it warm....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States