Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made this recipe once for a potluck and never got to taste it because it was eaten so fast, so I made it again for myself and I was glad I did because mmm this bread is SO DELICIOUS. Following some other reviewers' advice, I replaced the oil with applesauce. The pear flavour is really subtle and the applesauce can overpower it, so don't be timid about overdoing it with the pears. I used quite a lot, and the bread took a bit longer to cook, but it was worth it. I also omitted the salt and the pecans (because I never have pecans around), and the bread was fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Wonderful! This is a great way to use pears that are becoming ripe to fast, and a great quick bread recipe. I did make a few substutions-1/2 cup brown sugar for white sugar, 1/2 cup butter for vegetable oil, and I added about 3/4 cup chopped fresh cranberries for color and flavor. I will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This recipe was really good, my husband and kids can't stop eating them. I did alter it a bit though. Instead of 1 cup of oil, I used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce and walnuts instead of pecans (I was out of pecans). Plus I put the batter in muffin tins instead of a bread pan. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I really liked this bread. I did change a couple of things. Instead of oil I used same amount of chunky applesauce and the sugar I used 1 cup white and 1 cup of brown. I made mini loafs for Christmas give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This recipe was lovely. For the flour I substituted half the amount with whole wheat, and I used applesauce for the oil. I made one loaf and baked the rest of the batter as muffins, and they were perfectly moist and very, very tasty. I thought they were a tad sweet, but that is probably because of the applesauce; I'll try to take that into account next time. They smell wonderful while baking! Overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This bread is yummy. I could not stop eating it straight from the oven. I used 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/2 c. oil and I left out the pecans. I baked it in a 9x13 pan and it was ready in 45 minutes. This is a great way to use up pears that no one wants to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This tasted good but took a long time to finish cooking. I used 2 loaf bread pans as stated but for some reason the middle was not getting done. I ended up having to put foil over the top to keep it from getting burned while it finished cooking. It took over an hour to bake, my guess is about an hour and 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good bread, moist and easy to make. I made it as written and I give 4 stars since I thinkk it was a bit to much oil. Which is great to keep the bread moist for a longer period of time, but the end result was a little too oily. The bottom of my finished bread was glistening and semi-wet from oil. I will do 50/50 oil and applesauce next time or reduce oil to 2/3 cup. Be careful not to use overly ripe pears that are running with juice or else you'll get a soggy bread. I used ripe but still firm pear, 2 pears are plenty, and coarsely chopped them. Great Fall bread. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This bread was delicious! I did substitute white flour for whole wheat, applesauce for oil & some brown sugar for white sugar and it came out perfect. The recipe made 2 9x5 loaves so I took one in to work and it was instantly gone. Even my boss (who doesn't like sweets) gave it rave reviews. I will definately make it again and would recommend it to anyone looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is real good.. a little too sweet, but I blame that on my very ripe, dripping sweetness pears. I think next time I'll hold back on the sugar a little depending on their ripeness. This was worth the time and effort and it used up some surplus of extra pears from the tree, If I were to have a choice of my sweet bread recipes, I would stick with the zucchini bread. That's my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandoo4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marengo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States