Pear Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
We shred our pears instead of chopping - they tend to get a little gooey when left in chunks (after the bread has been baked). We leave out the nuts, just a preference, but a great and different quick bread to switch up the same old same old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Awesome! I didn't have any nuts but it still turned out wonderful. I was also a bit short on oil but it was still extremely moist. Brought it to a study group and it was devoured! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made a couple of recommended changes. Used applesauce in place of 1/2 of the oil and used Canola oil and used 3/4 cup light brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Very moist! One loaf was gone before dinner! So good when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I subbed the oil for cinnamon applesauce, white sugar with brown sugar (a little less), and 1/2 cup flour with flax seed meal. This made me add a tad of grape seed oil because batter seemed a little thick. These are great for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Have made this recipe a number of times now and find this is best with just one cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup of white, and then I sprinkle some cinnamon and sugar on top before baking which gives the crust an even nicer texture. I have a mix of apples and pears that were picked and frozen from my friends' trees, and just chop them (still frozen)in the food processor until they are still pretty chunky but fairly even in size and the loafs bake up perfectly. Doesn't last more than a couple of days in my house, a perfect Fall treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhawksrule

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eandtheboys
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We've enjoyed this so far, I did as another suggested and used all the batter to fill a bundt pan. Baked it for 70 minutes and it was perfect. The pears I used were fresh, but still pretty hard, so they stayed together well. I did add about a 1/2 t ground ginger, think next time I'll try fresh. I replaced half of the oil with applesauce, mostly because I had an almost empty jar taking up room in the fridge. Last thing I did was to use about one third whole wheat instead of the all-purpose. I think next time I'd like to try adding some cardamom too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I followed it exactly! Loved it!! The pears are not over powering but not understated. I only prepared my pears differently. I halved and cored them and shredded them in my food processor. I also let them sit in my sieve for as bit bc there was as lot of extra juice. I did this bc I wanted a more all over pear flavor, not just a "Ooooo I got a pear in that bite" bread lol. Just a great, tasty, moist bread! (also my pears were fresh from the orchard)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I didn't have shredded pears but I did have homemade "pear sauce" (steamed pears then strained). I omitted the oil and used 3 cups total of the pear sauce. Used homemade candied pecans. Turned out beautiful! Nice and Moist...my boys love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't change anything and it turned out super moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe!...for a lighter version I used 2/3 of a cup of brown sugar and 2/3 white rather than 2 cups of white sugar, 1/2 oil and 1/2 apple sauce rather than 1 cup of oil, doubled the vanilla and 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white and 1 cup of walnuts! Will try Greek yogurt next time rather then oil, this will cut back on the kcal a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States