Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I used crushed almonds instead of walnuts, half the sugar, and I baked them in muffin tins for 30 minutes till deep golden brown on the tops. They were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This bread turned out very yummy! I was wanting to find something using pears since we have a tree out back and so many just go to waste. I did make a few changes, I had 2 small apples that needed to be used up so I shredded them, also decreased the oil to 1/2 cup and added 2 mashed ripe bananas. I don't use sugar so used splenda instead. I'll deffinatly make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is definitely a keeper. The house smelled heavenly while the bread was in the oven! The only thing I changed was I added a dash of ground cloves, nutmeg, and all spice to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
super good and very easy. yummy warm and cold also. this will go in my keeper recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Cut the sugar in 1/2 and split it between white and brown and used applesauce instead of oil. I also used my canned pears instead of fresh. This is great! Especially warm with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is the first bread I have ever made, and it came out great. I found this recipe while looking for something I could use the canned pears I've had in the pantry for a year. This was delicious, moist, and was super-easy for a first timer. I especially love that it didn't require a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was a good way to get rid of pears, but as a bread it was more cinnamon-spice flavored than pear. I think I still prefer zucchini, pumpkin and banana breads to this one. It was a great experiment though, and it was easy enough to be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Did 1 cup sugar and applesauce and 1c oatmeal per recommendations. Emily the 7 1/2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Taking suggestions, I used all applesauce (no oil) and rather than decreasing the sugar, I used 1/2 white, 1/2 brown. I also chopped/diced the pears. This just cooled off enough for a taste--and it's just right--not too sweet, perfect amount of moistness/firmness. Others said this was too "light" for a bread, but I think it came out perfect. I mixed this by hand, so maybe that's why? The cinnamon is the main flavor, so next time, I think I'll use more pears (maybe 1/2 again as much). Thanks for a new and easy way to use pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The whole family loved the bread. We finished it in 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States