Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I took advice from another reviewer and diced the pears to try and get more pear flavor. Both my husband and I weren't all that fond of biting into the occasional cold mush... but to each his own. ;) The cinnamon dominated the taste anyway (which I like) so I'm pretty sure grating will be sufficient next time. It was very good (even with the chunks)! I recommend this recipe and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is an excellent recipe! Everytime I make it, it disappears. Can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Loved it! Had never thought of using pears in a bread before finding this recipe, great way to use up some extra fruit. Only changes I made were those suggestions in other reviews: used half oil and half applesauce, added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and increased cinnamon to 1-1/2 tsp. Also used walnuts simply because they were on-hand. Definitely a recipe to repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I chopped the pears instead of shredding. Also, I cut the oil to 1/2 cup and increased the pears to about 2 2/3 cups. Very moist and flavorful! No doubt I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Great recipe! I did make some of the same changes as others -- applesauce for the oil, added nutmeg, cut sugar nearly in half, substituted whole wheat flour, made into muffins (baking for 17 minutes)... All in all, I think this deserves 5 stars. Nice change to the usual banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I altered this recipe a bit. I used 3 1/2 diced pears instead of shredding and I added a banana. I also used 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2 cups and I baked it in 1 loaf pan. I like a heavey, doey bread and this was more cake-like. The taste was delicious, just a little light to be called a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I have made this bread, as is or substituting walnuts for pecans, several times in the past couple months. It's so tasty and moist and gone in a flash. This is one of my most favorite recipies by far. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
tasty bread, i used 2 large very ripe pears,cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and used applesause for half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was delicious and easy. I used the largest hole on my grater/grinder, and you can see the pears and taste them a little. The first day the bread tasted a little dry. We were away for 2 days and left the bread well wrapped on the kitchen counter. When we arrived home we each had a piece of the bread, and it was delicious and moist. My advice is to make the bread a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States