Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
YUMMY!!! Was a little skeptical about this one, but it turned out great. OK almost, I thought it was going to fit in one loaf pan and was cooking fine but after about 30 min it spilled, thankfully I decided to put a cookie sheet under it. Next time I'll just make 4 large muffins and the rest will go in the loaf pan. I didn't shred the pears either, mine were very ripe so all I did was mash them like making banana bread. The taste isn't so much pear but more spice-ish but tastes great either way. Will make this again though for sure and will add more pears. Might even try a variety of apple and pear together. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was great. I made the following changes: 1. Reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups 2. Used only half tbsp cinnamon and added a half tbsp ground cardamon. 3. Added 1/2 cup or so golden raisins. 4. Baked as muffins for 30 minutes (made approximately 16 muffins). I think the cardamon is really what made these muffins distinctive and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I used 1/2-Splenda and 1/2-sugar. I also substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil. The bread turned out delicious. The only reason I ranked this 4-star is because of the texture of pears in bread. My family got caught-up in the graininess of the texture that pears present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I have many pears this year and have been baking up a storm. The only thing I changed was using Splenda instead of sugar, and it turned out wonderfully. Quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In_Ontario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Loved this. Great breakfast bread. Used 1/2 amount of cinnamon and substituted ground cloves and nutmeg. I also used 1/4 c oil and 1/2 c applesauce. Next time I will try all applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I used crushed almonds instead of walnuts, half the sugar, and I baked them in muffin tins for 30 minutes till deep golden brown on the tops. They were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This bread turned out very yummy! I was wanting to find something using pears since we have a tree out back and so many just go to waste. I did make a few changes, I had 2 small apples that needed to be used up so I shredded them, also decreased the oil to 1/2 cup and added 2 mashed ripe bananas. I don't use sugar so used splenda instead. I'll deffinatly make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is definitely a keeper. The house smelled heavenly while the bread was in the oven! The only thing I changed was I added a dash of ground cloves, nutmeg, and all spice to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
super good and very easy. yummy warm and cold also. this will go in my keeper recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Cut the sugar in 1/2 and split it between white and brown and used applesauce instead of oil. I also used my canned pears instead of fresh. This is great! Especially warm with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States