Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I bought a bunch of canned pears just to find that my kids don't like them and since they're packed in heavy syrup I can't eat them. This recipe was the perfect solution. I doubled the recipe and used up four cans of pears! You have to squeeze the syrup out well and reduce the sugar a bit (I used 3 instead of 4 cups in a double batch) to make up for the heavy syrup that's still in the pears but other than that not a single change! :-) They love it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
One of our favorite quick breads! We often use up pears that have gotten a little overripe (by accident) in this recipe and it makes for a really moist bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Delicious! I grated my slightly overripe Bartletts without peeling them and the bread came out with a rich pear flavour. Perhaps this is not possible with other varieties of pear (ones with much thicker skins), but I would try to include some... fiber is good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca, México, Mexico
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
a great easy bread. I followed others advice and made the following substitutions: used apple sauce instead of oil. cut the sugar to 1.5 cups(don't cut it too much) add 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1 Tbs vanilla, 1/8 to 1/4 tsp of orange zest. I just chopped the pears and the bug hunks made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Awesome!! I've made 4 loaves in a week it's so good! I did leave half of the bears chopped small and shredded the other half....A+++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We get Harry and David pears for Christmas every year, and they made this bread deliciously sweet and moist. I got rave reviews for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this last week as written and wasn't bad but tonight I made a couple changes that made these superb. First, no oil, used unsweetened applesauce. Second, 2 cups of chopped not shredded pears. Lastly, I added 2 mashed bananas. Such a wonderful blend of flavor of three fruits and I made muffins instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Good recipe! We used seckel pears (sugar pears) and added ground cloves. The cloves really set the flavor of the pears off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deprovence

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great! I just used 1/3 cup oil and cashews instead of pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobsgrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States