Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Delicious! I grated my slightly overripe Bartletts without peeling them and the bread came out with a rich pear flavour. Perhaps this is not possible with other varieties of pear (ones with much thicker skins), but I would try to include some... fiber is good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca, México, Mexico
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
a great easy bread. I followed others advice and made the following substitutions: used apple sauce instead of oil. cut the sugar to 1.5 cups(don't cut it too much) add 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1 Tbs vanilla, 1/8 to 1/4 tsp of orange zest. I just chopped the pears and the bug hunks made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Awesome!! I've made 4 loaves in a week it's so good! I did leave half of the bears chopped small and shredded the other half....A+++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We get Harry and David pears for Christmas every year, and they made this bread deliciously sweet and moist. I got rave reviews for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this last week as written and wasn't bad but tonight I made a couple changes that made these superb. First, no oil, used unsweetened applesauce. Second, 2 cups of chopped not shredded pears. Lastly, I added 2 mashed bananas. Such a wonderful blend of flavor of three fruits and I made muffins instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Good recipe! We used seckel pears (sugar pears) and added ground cloves. The cloves really set the flavor of the pears off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deprovence

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great! I just used 1/3 cup oil and cashews instead of pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobsgrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This has become a MUST HAVE for my family at the holidays. It is rich, moist, "cinnamonny", and always delicious. I leave out the nuts for my family's preference, and fan out thin slices of fresh pear on top of the bread before it bakes for presentation. A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTAHMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I'm a pear grower in Oregon, so of course I love to make home made goodies of pear, and I also gift them. This is a great recipe! I added 1/2 t. cloves for a little zip. I also don't peel the pears, just core and dice. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States