Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a very flexible recipe and a great way to use up all those pears on my neighbor's tree! The taste and texture of the pears is a nice change from bannana and zucchini breads and the nuts give it some crunch. My loaves had a rustic, old-fashioned look and taste. It was a zip to use my apple peeler to peel and slice the pears; then I sliced the stacks of slices into quarters. I used a heaping three cups of pears. To improve the healthiness of the bread I used 1 C of freshly milled white whole wheat flour and 1 C. freshly milled spelt, as well as 1 C. store bought all purpose flour. I followed other suggestions and used home-canned low sugar applesauce as a substitute for most of the oil and added 1/8 t. allspice, 1/8 t. cloves, and 1/2 t. ginger. Next time I will add 1/2 t. nutmeg and leave out the allspice. I used half brown sugar and half white, but next time will cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. I had no pecans so I substitued walnuts. I forgot to add the vanilla, so I drizzled the top with a powdered sugar/vanilla/milk glaze. I divided the two loaves in half and distributed them to my taste testers. My mom loved it but thought it a little sweet. My four co-workers were crazy about it. My neighbor loved it. My lawn mowing kid ate it with gusto. I really loved the heartiness of the flours contrasted with the soft texture and flavor of the pears. I am planning to make more loaves this afternoon to freeze. The horses loved the pear peelings and cores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Just made this bread. I didn't have any pecans. It is absolutely delicious. I had 3 pears going soft so I didn't need to shred them just cut them in small pieces. Also my oven may be off but I only baked for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holgate, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Really loved this! I used more pears and instead of using 2 loaf pans I baked the whole amount in a decorative bundt cake pan! It came out looking so nice! Got some great compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I added more pear and 1cup brandy/rum soaked raisins a m a z i n g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dora
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Omg! So delicious. The only difference was I blended 4 ripe pears with one extra lg. ripe banana. After everything was blended together I mixed in two chopped ripe pears! My daughters could get enough! 35 min for muffin tins and 45 for mini cake pan. Thank u for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beach Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very nice. Good pear flavor, if fresh ripe pears are used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I used 1c. brown sugar and 1c. white. also I only cooked it an hour, and I think that was too long. It was very good, but would have been better if it wasn't overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
So moist and delicious! I chopped the pears instead of shredding them. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Super yummy! Great addition with the cinnamon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Used less oil and sugar. (Used diced canned pears instead of shredded pears).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torval Thronberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States