Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jjcab78
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great bread!! Perfectly crisp crust complimenting the moist inside. It had very subtle pear taste so I'll be adding more fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maltbsmith
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delish!!!! Made mini muffins with this batter too. My toddler loves them & older kids love for an after school snack. Mini muffins baked at 325 for about 40 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
When I was stirring it felt stiff. I added one cup of milk. It came out moist and fluffy. I also added slivers of pear down the top of the bread. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was absolutely fabulous! I used 2 cans of pears because that's what I had. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I liked the chunks of pears and the subtle flavor it leaves on your tongue. The folks at work inhaled it with many many compliments. It was moist and held together well. I think next time I will use 1/4-1/2 cup less sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This bread is absolutely delicious! I made the recipe, as is, but without nuts (didn't have any on hand). I didn't shred my pears as they were too soft so I cut them up and put them in the food processor. A great way to use up your extra pears. My husband loves this bread! It had a cinnamon flavor with light pear overtones. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I am a relative newcomer to the bread making world, great winter weekend projects. We had some pears on the verge of going south, so I tried my hand here--the family went through this bread like a hot knife through butter. Just made it again today for Easter, but I did go off recipe now that I am getting to know my way around. Went half and half on the flour using wheat, went applesauce instead of oil, brown sugar instead of white, doubled the cinnamon, added one more pear and two bananas. Needs a bit longer in the oven, but great results. Threw in some flax meal to make it seam healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian N. Ramm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is soooo good! Making my second batch tonight and I'm hoping it lasts until my in laws get here at the end of the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Delicious! Couldn't really taste the pear, but was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samroberts357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
we got those huge pears from Harry & David as a gift and found this recipe. I decreased sugar by 1/2 c., increased flour by 1/2 c.,shredded 3 pears and drained in colander, omitted pecans--otherwise did recipe exactly, baked for 55 min, they came out beautifully, plan to make 2 more loaves today as gifts. Great way to use pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I was very disappointed in this bread. I realize that pear is a subtle flavor, however, there was absolutely no flavor of pear in this bread. It's as if I made a sweet bread with no fruit flavor...tastes as if something is missing. I even added more pear than the recipe called for, added some ground ginger and a bit of brown sugar. Even with butter on it, it lacks flavor. Sorry, I give it 2 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States