Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I altered this recipe a bit. I used 3 1/2 diced pears instead of shredding and I added a banana. I also used 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2 cups and I baked it in 1 loaf pan. I like a heavey, doey bread and this was more cake-like. The taste was delicious, just a little light to be called a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I have made this bread, as is or substituting walnuts for pecans, several times in the past couple months. It's so tasty and moist and gone in a flash. This is one of my most favorite recipies by far. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
tasty bread, i used 2 large very ripe pears,cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and used applesause for half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzana Dasilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was delicious and easy. I used the largest hole on my grater/grinder, and you can see the pears and taste them a little. The first day the bread tasted a little dry. We were away for 2 days and left the bread well wrapped on the kitchen counter. When we arrived home we each had a piece of the bread, and it was delicious and moist. My advice is to make the bread a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I followed the advice of other reviews by adding nutmeg (really compliments the pear) & subbing applesauce for the oil. I also used closer to 3 pears, pureeing one and dicing the other 2 rather than shredding. Some reviewers said the bread lacked pear flavor - mine didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I had super-ripe pears so I had a go at this. Tasty and fairly wholesome with the following changes: whole wheat flour and whole oats for 2 of the cups of white flour; reduced the sugar to 1 c.; 1/3 c. canola oil and subbed vanilla yogurt for the remaining oil, cut the cinnamon back and added nutmeg and ginger; and added 3 slices of candied ginger that I minced and 1/4 c. of currants. I made 22 muffins with the recipe which I baked for 25 minutes. Topped them with raw sugar crystals for crunch and whole oats for decoration. I just mashed the pears with a potato masher and drained the accumulated juice after it sat. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I made this bread for family using pears from the tree in our backyard. Everybody has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
this was a great recipe. i used walnuts instead of pecans. Also, I baked the bread in 2 metal coffee cans to give as gifts. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Dove Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petal, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I brought some pear bread into work last year. I'm STILL being asked when I'm bringing in some more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This recipe was pretty good use of an abundance of pears; although, it was a bit sweeter than I was expecting. I did make a few changes though, as follows: 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, and 4 cups chopped pears rather than the 2 shredded. I made 24 muffins with this recipe rather than 2 loaves. Muffins are easier for my toddler to hold on to, and I found the consistency was more cake like and suited to muffins. I would make this again, as we really enjoyed them but I may decrease the sugar a bit the next time. Thanks for the post. It was a good basis to put my own spin on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States