Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
It was very bland. No flavor at all. I used 4 pears, peeled and cut them up in very small chuncks and followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sibrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
MY BELOVED AND I MADE THIS BREAD THIS AFTERNOON. WE USED OUR FOOD PROCESSOR TO SHRED THE PEARS AFTER THEY WERE PEELED. I DIDN'T LIKE THE WAY THE PEARS WERE TOO JUICEY. AND THERE FOR REALLY MADE FOR A SOUPY KIND OF SHREDDING. WE STILL USED IT AND MADE THIS PEAR BREAD USING WHEAT FLOUR. ITS REALLY GOOD! WE EVEN MADE ONE LOAF FOR MY HUSBANDS PARENTS :) IT DOES NEED ALIL BUTTER BECAUSE WHEAT FLOUR CAN BE SOMEWHAT DRY. WE GIVE THIS PEAR BREAD 4 STARS. NX TIME IF WE MAKE IT AGAIN WE WILL USE SMALL THIN SLICES OF PEARS AND CHOP THEM UP AND ADD THEM TO MIX. WOULD ADD PHOTO,BUT ITS ALL COVERED :) MAYBE NX TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjcab78
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great bread!! Perfectly crisp crust complimenting the moist inside. It had very subtle pear taste so I'll be adding more fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maltbsmith
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delish!!!! Made mini muffins with this batter too. My toddler loves them & older kids love for an after school snack. Mini muffins baked at 325 for about 40 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
When I was stirring it felt stiff. I added one cup of milk. It came out moist and fluffy. I also added slivers of pear down the top of the bread. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was absolutely fabulous! I used 2 cans of pears because that's what I had. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I liked the chunks of pears and the subtle flavor it leaves on your tongue. The folks at work inhaled it with many many compliments. It was moist and held together well. I think next time I will use 1/4-1/2 cup less sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This bread is absolutely delicious! I made the recipe, as is, but without nuts (didn't have any on hand). I didn't shred my pears as they were too soft so I cut them up and put them in the food processor. A great way to use up your extra pears. My husband loves this bread! It had a cinnamon flavor with light pear overtones. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I am a relative newcomer to the bread making world, great winter weekend projects. We had some pears on the verge of going south, so I tried my hand here--the family went through this bread like a hot knife through butter. Just made it again today for Easter, but I did go off recipe now that I am getting to know my way around. Went half and half on the flour using wheat, went applesauce instead of oil, brown sugar instead of white, doubled the cinnamon, added one more pear and two bananas. Needs a bit longer in the oven, but great results. Threw in some flax meal to make it seam healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian N. Ramm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is soooo good! Making my second batch tonight and I'm hoping it lasts until my in laws get here at the end of the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Delicious! Couldn't really taste the pear, but was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samroberts357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States