Pear Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
It was very good fresh out of the oven. But it was VERY dry the next day. It had a good spice cake flavor to it. You really don't taste the pears at all. Ill make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amiller

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by halpert2
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This turned out great. Followed the recipe but was a little short of pears so added some cranberry sauce that I made at the same time. I like it toasted with a little cream cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is incredibly good. As written, five stars. The second time I made it I made some adjustments to make it healthier, and it was just as delicious. I did one cup each of wheat, white and oat flour. 1 1/2 cups of sugar. 1/2 cup oil, 1/4 cup non fat Greek yogurt. Added 1/4 cup ground flax seed. Big hit with everyone. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This bread is very similar to zucchini bread, only slightly better. :) My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia Giddens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Very nice bread. Mine was slightly overcooked :( due to my oven having an issue that needs to addressed. Other than that, I made some small changes to my liking. I replaced the oil with applesauce and cut the sugar to 1 1/3 cup. I also halved the cinnamon but added a few pinches each of ginger, cloves and nutmeg, as well as 2 TBLSP flaxseed. I was short on fresh pears, so I added half a chopped apple to compensate. In place of the pecans I subbed walnuts, using a little less but still reserving some to put on top of the batter, along with some turbinado sugar. When dusting the pan with flour, I also added some cinnamon-sugar. This is a keeper that I'll be sure to make again, even trying other additions. Thanks ANGIEGAIL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
It was very bland. No flavor at all. I used 4 pears, peeled and cut them up in very small chuncks and followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sibrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
MY BELOVED AND I MADE THIS BREAD THIS AFTERNOON. WE USED OUR FOOD PROCESSOR TO SHRED THE PEARS AFTER THEY WERE PEELED. I DIDN'T LIKE THE WAY THE PEARS WERE TOO JUICEY. AND THERE FOR REALLY MADE FOR A SOUPY KIND OF SHREDDING. WE STILL USED IT AND MADE THIS PEAR BREAD USING WHEAT FLOUR. ITS REALLY GOOD! WE EVEN MADE ONE LOAF FOR MY HUSBANDS PARENTS :) IT DOES NEED ALIL BUTTER BECAUSE WHEAT FLOUR CAN BE SOMEWHAT DRY. WE GIVE THIS PEAR BREAD 4 STARS. NX TIME IF WE MAKE IT AGAIN WE WILL USE SMALL THIN SLICES OF PEARS AND CHOP THEM UP AND ADD THEM TO MIX. WOULD ADD PHOTO,BUT ITS ALL COVERED :) MAYBE NX TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjcab78
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great bread!! Perfectly crisp crust complimenting the moist inside. It had very subtle pear taste so I'll be adding more fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maltbsmith
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delish!!!! Made mini muffins with this batter too. My toddler loves them & older kids love for an after school snack. Mini muffins baked at 325 for about 40 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
When I was stirring it felt stiff. I added one cup of milk. It came out moist and fluffy. I also added slivers of pear down the top of the bread. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States