Pear Braised Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I was blown away by this recipe. Following reviews, I seared my pork tenderloin (4) pieces on a cast iron, then turned off the heat, dumped the pear mixture and some diced onions on top (didn't have pearl onions). I used an inexpensive but good white bordeaux and baked covered for half an hour at 375. It came out perfect! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Increased the garlic and decreased the olive oil a bit, but other than that, kept the recipe the same. We did not marinate, but I definitely will next time. This was even better the next day after sitting in its juices in the fridge. I think if we marinade next time around, it'll be a 5 star recipe in our family. I'm not very experienced in the kitchen and found this to be super simple, lovely, and one that I could feel good putting on the table for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very tasty. I used a peeled unribe pear, and it was perfect. Used white grape juice instead of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Made this for my husband on Sunday evening and we loved it! I sauteed chopped onion in a dutch oven, then seared the tenderloin so it was browned before adding the remaining ingredients. I also reduced the amount of olive oil to perhaps 1/4 cup. I baked it partially covered and it was super tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Loved this recipe!!!! Did use cannned pears because that's what I had on hand. I used the pear juice instead of most of the olive oil. I do think I will decrease the liquid next time........but, loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmackisey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
very good! All the kids and husband liked this. Some changes I made were: 2 TB. of grated onion to the mix, reduced the olive oil to 1/3 c. and I added whole pearl onions instead of chopped. Uncover for the last 10 min to reduce the sause a little for the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was so easy and turned out much better than I expected. I cut the olive oil to 1/4c and used 2 soft ripe pears, about 2 tbl sp of fresh chopped rosemary, 2-3 shallots instead of pearl onions. I also seared the pork on the stove prior to baking and used a pino grigio with pear and fruit undertones, it was absolutely divine! The pork was really tender and the sauce was tasty, but not overpowering, actually it was really delicious, and I am not a big fan of pork . I can't wait to make this again and again! It is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Loved it. Followed the reviews and seared it first in a dutch oven on the stovetop, added everything else and then put the whole thing in the oven. I agree that this recipe does not need much olive oil. I put in about 2 Tbsp and that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very good pork recipe. Have used on boneless pork chops. Marinate for at least an hour before cooking. Good to pound pork when mixing in marinade to tenderize meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This came nice and tender, but I thought there was way too much oil, so I would cut that back to maybe 1/2 cup. I used two 1 and 1/4 lb tenderloins with two pears, the same amount of oil and spices, and double the onions. I used a Chardonnay which balanced the sweetness of the pears nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

See how to make quick pork tenderloin in a spicy cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States