Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
***** If I could I would rate this a perfect 10! I was looking for something different, but simple to serve to guests as an appetizer. I served this in individual souffle dishes and it was a big hit. The only change I made was to use half and half instead of heavy cream. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was good. The only change I made was to use 1 1/2 cups chunky Peanutbutter, instead of adding in extra peanuts. My husband ate his served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
This soup is delicious! It is a very quick, not to mention tasty, addition to any dinner. I served it with pumpernickel bread, but would also be good with a side salad and low-fat chicken dinner. This soup is very rich and creamy, so a small cup-size serving is enough per person. I definitely recommend making this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Loved this soup! I made this for my family at Thanksgiving as a surprise, and it received much praise and made me look like a hero. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
delicious recipe! very rich, you only need a small serving. It might also taste great on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
A fascinating and original recipe. Those that turn their nose up to anything a little off the mainstream path may not appreciate this recipe, but if you enjoy foods that are a little exotic and unusual, this is very worthwhile. It's a no-brainer to fix in terms of time and ingredients. but get a good brand of peanut butter since it's such a critical ingredient. I used the Smuckers Natural Peanut Butter (chunky) other reviewers recommended. The consistency and flavor of this recipe truly will please those with discriminating taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I think this recipe is great. I use real butter instead of margarine, although I might use the suggestion of olive oil next time, and crunchy peanut butter. I have also used half & half. I've made this for family and they loved it, and my husband has requested it a couple of times. Good winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This soup is so good! I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock to make it vegetarian-friendly, and I also snuck in an extra clove of garlic. My husband and I ate it with some crusty Frech bread, and it's very tasty. Next time, I plan on adding more flour to give it more thickness, and I might try a peanut butter that's not quite as sweet (we used Skippy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
So happy I found this recipe! I had surgery a week ago on my throat and have been living on chicken broth and tomato soup and this was a welcome change! I normally like my peanut soup spicier but in this instance this was perfect, very flavourful and just a great change. Once I'm feeling better, I will probably try it again with some hot sauce to give it a little extra something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELZILE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
More accurate rating would have been 4.5; wonderful but not perfect...yet. :) If you like peanut & are ready for something a little different, give this soup a try! The flavor is rich and you can taste all the ingredients...the garlic & onion are suprisingly good compliments to the peanut butter! I changed the following for nutrition or convenience reasons (and liked the results): *1 c fat free half & half instead of heavy cream *1 1/2 c chunky peanut butter instead of 1c pb & 1/2 c crushed peanuts Next time I may use the whole 18oz jar of chunky pb; a small increase that may help thicken the soup just a bit. PB used: JIF naturals chunky - worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States