Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
More accurate rating would have been 4.5; wonderful but not perfect...yet. :) If you like peanut & are ready for something a little different, give this soup a try! The flavor is rich and you can taste all the ingredients...the garlic & onion are suprisingly good compliments to the peanut butter! I changed the following for nutrition or convenience reasons (and liked the results): *1 c fat free half & half instead of heavy cream *1 1/2 c chunky peanut butter instead of 1c pb & 1/2 c crushed peanuts Next time I may use the whole 18oz jar of chunky pb; a small increase that may help thicken the soup just a bit. PB used: JIF naturals chunky - worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
So happy I found this recipe! I had surgery a week ago on my throat and have been living on chicken broth and tomato soup and this was a welcome change! I normally like my peanut soup spicier but in this instance this was perfect, very flavourful and just a great change. Once I'm feeling better, I will probably try it again with some hot sauce to give it a little extra something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELZILE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
***** If I could I would rate this a perfect 10! I was looking for something different, but simple to serve to guests as an appetizer. I served this in individual souffle dishes and it was a big hit. The only change I made was to use half and half instead of heavy cream. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I think maybe peanut butter soup just isn't for me. It tasted like watered down peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was good. The only change I made was to use 1 1/2 cups chunky Peanutbutter, instead of adding in extra peanuts. My husband ate his served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was a huge disappointment. Something important seemed to be missing from the recipe, and my SO and I decided this would make a much better sauce than soup. I might eventually make this again, but thicker and served over chicken/steak and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My family loved this soup, but with some changes. I used the chunky Adams peanut butter and I pureed the soup. I then followed the original directions, but I found the soup surprisingly bland and tasteless. I then added a sprinkle of celery seed (although I think adding some minced celery to the onion would be better - upon realizing that the soup was bland, I read other peanut soup recipes that used celery, so I used what I had on hand). I also added a dash of nutmeg. I garnished with chopped cilantro and chopped peanuts which looked and tasted great. I served this to an eclectic group of people (some whom I thought wouldn't be adventurous enough for peanut soup and one person who had, coincidentally, made this exact recipe herself and hadn't liked it because it was too bland, but liked mine with the additions). Everyone raved about it and most went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This soup is so good! I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock to make it vegetarian-friendly, and I also snuck in an extra clove of garlic. My husband and I ate it with some crusty Frech bread, and it's very tasty. Next time, I plan on adding more flour to give it more thickness, and I might try a peanut butter that's not quite as sweet (we used Skippy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
The first mouthful was good, but it was so incredibly rich, I could barely eat half a serving. I'm glad I tried it, but I won't be making it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I think this recipe is great. I use real butter instead of margarine, although I might use the suggestion of olive oil next time, and crunchy peanut butter. I have also used half & half. I've made this for family and they loved it, and my husband has requested it a couple of times. Good winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States