Peanut Sesame Chicken with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
We enjoyed this recipe but read the reviews first and made some changes. used 1/2 cup of cashews instead of peanuts for the milder taste. Added 1/2 cup of chicken broth for the sauce at the end which did provide enough an adequate amount. 1/4 tsp of crushed Red Peppers "kicked it up a notch" Next time I will saute green onions seperately and maybe add some Bok Choy and Snow Peas to add at the end. The green onions are almost non existent when cooking is done and I feel the green color would really add to the presentation and the flavors would be more defined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I thought this recipe was very good. However, it does need a bit more "sauce". Next time I will add about 1/2 to 1 cup of chicken broth when adding the corn starch mixture. That should give something for the rice to soak up. I also topped this with crunch chinese noodles. That really gave it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
A very tasty stir fry that satisfied my tastebuds. I did scale the recipe to 3 servings (half) but used the full amount of vinegar and soy sauce. I mixed a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter in 1 cup of chicken broth and added to the simmering chicken for a mild peanut flavor throughout. Cooked angel hair pasta added to the chicken for a few minutes before serving really absorbed lots of good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lestoby
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
We found this to be very good after the following changes (as suggested by others): 3/4 of a can of chicken broth added at the end. 1 cup of cashews White rice is fine with us. Covered the pan while it was simmering for 20 min. Used canned mushrooms instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very very good. I use cashews instead of peanuts, and I keep some chicken broth on hand to give the dish some extra sauce. I've made this several times...And am planning to make again for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious as-is. I like things spicy, so I added a jalepeno. I thought the flavors all blended very well together. Just make sure to coarsly chop up the peanuts in a food processor or they'll be a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was very tasty. I, like some other reviewers, also added some baby bok choy, snow peas and some extra water. My husband even ate everything on his plate and he usually picks around veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
It tasted great but it didn;t make enough sauce to coat the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Great potential - but should have taken others advice to add some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIKI76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This is good IF you make some changes. You need to use 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon soy sauce and 3 tablespoons rice vinegar. If you don't do this you won't have any sauce. We decided that it needs to be spiced up. This is hard to rate because made as written it would be a one star. I would also reduce the peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States