Peanut Sesame Chicken with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This is good IF you make some changes. You need to use 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon soy sauce and 3 tablespoons rice vinegar. If you don't do this you won't have any sauce. We decided that it needs to be spiced up. This is hard to rate because made as written it would be a one star. I would also reduce the peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious as-is. I like things spicy, so I added a jalepeno. I thought the flavors all blended very well together. Just make sure to coarsly chop up the peanuts in a food processor or they'll be a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I thought this recipe was very good. However, it does need a bit more "sauce". Next time I will add about 1/2 to 1 cup of chicken broth when adding the corn starch mixture. That should give something for the rice to soak up. I also topped this with crunch chinese noodles. That really gave it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
it was okay...but the leftovers sat in the fridge for a while, so it wasn't THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
this recipe was so simple and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
We enjoyed this recipe but read the reviews first and made some changes. used 1/2 cup of cashews instead of peanuts for the milder taste. Added 1/2 cup of chicken broth for the sauce at the end which did provide enough an adequate amount. 1/4 tsp of crushed Red Peppers "kicked it up a notch" Next time I will saute green onions seperately and maybe add some Bok Choy and Snow Peas to add at the end. The green onions are almost non existent when cooking is done and I feel the green color would really add to the presentation and the flavors would be more defined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Great potential - but should have taken others advice to add some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIKI76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This was easy, fast and absolutely delicious. Regular white rice works just fine and the dry-roasted cashews I used in place of the peanuts were a big hit. This will be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
seemed like something was missing and it was a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This was a great recipe. Easy to make. I used the half cup of chicken broth as well. You really need it to cook everything properly. Also, added snow peas. Other than that, recipe is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgit1880

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States