Peanut Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was so fast and delicious. I substituted honey for the molasses, because I didn't have any molasses. It didn't seem as delicate as indicated regarding heat. I halved the recipe, and still had enough left over to keep in the fridge for 3 days, served it with lo mein, carrots, spinach and dry scallops, after doing the initial stir frying in peanut oil. One of the quickest, most versatile recipies I've ever used. I've also served it as sauce for salmon: fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
perfectly easy. perfectly balanced. yeah, you could add this, that and the other to taste. however, it really is perfect as is. well, i did do something slightly different. i did half molasses, half brown sugar (the splenda brown sugar stuff) and it was juuust right. really, really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I was looking for a simple peanut sauce for satays - for a wedding we're helping with last weekend. I found it, and I love it!!! Thanks. I generally made as directed, halving the cayenne and adding 2t crushed ginger and 2t crushed garlic. I used the full amount of vinegar and loved it, as did all the guests. I love vinegar in general, but I got the impression everyone else did too, so I'm not sure what to say about some of the other reviews. Maybe know your own vinegar preferences, and start with half and adjust to your personal taste I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I substituted soy sauce for tamari and honey for molasses...man are there some odd ingredients in this - super sweet, super salty, super spicy and super sour but the taste is unbelievably good. I made the breaded, fried and softly spiced tofu from this site and it needed something just right to go with it and this was it! Thanks for a super quick, easy and delicious recipe Laura! Will DEFINATELY make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Excellent. After lunch at a Thai cafe, we were craving more peanut sauce! I used brown sugar, and rice wine vinegar, and black pepper, since I didn't have the exact ingriedients. We ate it over brown rice, broc, tofu, onions and garlic. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a super easy recipe and basically no flaw. I give it a 5* for that reason alone. I did use soy sauce instead of tamari, and added 1t ginger paste, 3 finely diced green onions with tops, 1t minced garlic and 1/4 cup finely diced red bell pepper. You wouldn't have to add it but I always change recipes up. lol I poured it over bow tie pasta. Next I will try lightly sauted vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This sauce is perfect! Even my "picky eater" took his requisite "one bite" and then finished the entire plate of food with this sauce on it. Very easily made too. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Tasty! I resorted to this after the store was out of our favorite peanut sauce mix and now I'll never go back. I followed recommendations to halve the vinegar and use brown sugar instead of molasses. I also added 1/2 cup more peanut butter, some ground ginger, curry powder, cumin and 1/2 can of coconut milk. It passed the wife and kids test and we'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BretV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I really liked this, however, my stepdaughter would not even touch it and my husband found it too vinegary. Perhaps I will try again and take a note from other reviewers and reduce the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Out of all the peanut sauce recipes I have tried, I must admit this one is my favourite. Like many reviewers, I substituted the molasses with a touch of honey and brown sugar and used a tad bit of rice vinegar instead of distilled vinegar. I added red pepper flakes which gave it much more of a kick. Thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States