Peanut Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is a really great recipe... fast and easy to make, and has ingredients most people have on hand. I did substitute honey for molasses as that is all I had. It has a nice spicy kick. However, I agree about the vinegar... I used rice vinegar (milder than white vinegar) and it was still too much. Had to add more peanut butter and a dash of fish sauce to try balance it. Admittedly I am not a vinegar fan, but I still think that halving the vinegar would make this a 5-star recipe. Regardless, I'm sure I will make this again... served as a sauce for chicken breast pieces threaded on skewers (easiest fancy appetizer ever!), and had leftover sauce on pasta with some stir-fried veggies. Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and didn't care for this sauce. The vinegar flavor was too strong (and I love vinegar). The sauce was also much thinner then I anticipated and it didn't have enough spice. I would recommend less vinegar, more cayenne, maybe some fresh ginger and a little extra tamari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
perfectly easy. perfectly balanced. yeah, you could add this, that and the other to taste. however, it really is perfect as is. well, i did do something slightly different. i did half molasses, half brown sugar (the splenda brown sugar stuff) and it was juuust right. really, really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Out of all the peanut sauce recipes I have tried, I must admit this one is my favourite. Like many reviewers, I substituted the molasses with a touch of honey and brown sugar and used a tad bit of rice vinegar instead of distilled vinegar. I added red pepper flakes which gave it much more of a kick. Thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Tasty! I resorted to this after the store was out of our favorite peanut sauce mix and now I'll never go back. I followed recommendations to halve the vinegar and use brown sugar instead of molasses. I also added 1/2 cup more peanut butter, some ground ginger, curry powder, cumin and 1/2 can of coconut milk. It passed the wife and kids test and we'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BretV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This sauce is great! I added a tablespoon of ginger paste and omitted the cayenne. I threw in an extra splash of vinegar, too. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Fantastic. I was scared to use so much vinegar and cayenne so I halved those 2 ingredients - someone suggessted soy sauce instead of tamari so I did that and used splenda instead of molassis. I also added a sprig of minced fresh basil. It was still spicy enough for us and it went perfect with the chicken satay and noodles I cooked. I thought it would be too much sauce but we ate it all. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This worked well, but next time I will use brown sugar instead of molasses; the flavor was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was okay. I only used half of the (rice) vinegar - it still seemed too much. And maybe too much soy? Something was missing - maybe coconut milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I would not say this was delicious. I should have listened to other reviews and cut the vinegar in half. I did use rice vinegar. I needed to add 1/2 cup of peanut butter to enhance the flavor. I think, next time, I will add some ginger and garlic and a little more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States