Peanut Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe got good reviews from the family. It has a creamier texture than the store bought ones. I tried to cook it to 250 as some reviewers suggested but only made it to 240 and as a consequence I think I may have cooked it a little to long. It had really good flavor even though some patties were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I was very happy with the taste, but it stopped there. It may have been the humidity, but hours later mine were not completely set and I could tell the first batch was gonna stick to the wax paper,(and my table) so I sprayed the next row of wax paper with PAM. That kept them from having to be pried off my table top, but the paper still stuck to the back. IF I ever make them again, I will use a candy thermometer and not the cold water method and I will have to figure out something else to put the hot candy on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe. I grew up in Texas where the ubiquitous red peanut pattie is everywhere. This is a very good recipe that comes very close. I modified the recipe by replacing the corn syrup with a 3/4 cup white sugar, and 3/16 cup of warm water mixture as my family members are allergic to corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe is the best I have tried,except I had to cook it to 250 degrees. Also as a helpful hint put them in foil cupcake baking cups. It keeps them all together instead of spreading out eveywhere.Be sure to spray the cups with PAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
the recipe did not say to grease the wax paper . all of mine r stuck with paper like glue. other wise turned out great. make sure u cook them to 250 degrees on thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the directions exactly, cooking to a soft-ball stage on the candy thermometer. They did not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I have read another recipe and they didn't add the evaporated milk in their recipe. What difference does it make? I gave it four stars because of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I can't get these to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Definitely NOT pink peanut patties. More like caramel patties. As such, they set up fine and taste good, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I think I'll give up. Two batches that were both utter failures. The first I followed the instructions as listed here. You'd need a spoon to eat it. The second I followed what many said about heating to 250. The second weas better, but still more like gooey taffy than the "gas station peanut patties" I was hoping for. I'll continue seeking that perfect peanut patty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States