Peanut Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Great base recipe. As with most people who gave four or five stars, I tinkered with the proportions. That's not a problem with the recipe, just an issue of personal tastes and preferences. Here are the quantities I used: 8 ounces spaghetti 1 bunch green onions, sliced (white parts only) (for the onions, I had access to spring bermuda onions which worked very well) 1 tablespoon sesame oil 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger root 2 cloves garlic, minced 1/3 + 2 TBS cup peanut butter 1/8 cup soy sauce 1/3 cup hot water 1 tablespoon cider or rice) vinegar 1 teaspoon white sugar 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (I used a couple pinches of cayenne pepper powder) I reduced the amount of soy because 1/4 cup seemed like too much sodium for me. I also tripled the ginger (1 TBS instead of 1 tsp) because I like a good, strong ginger flavor and it really turned out well. I also increased the water from 1/4 to 1/3 cup since I reduced the amount of liquid when I decreased the soy sauce. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic which I added to the oil/onions with the ginger. As I alluded to before, the sign of a truly good recipe is one that can be easily altered to suit individual preferences! Very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDTERP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Phenomenal recipe! I always get tons of compliments when I bring this to potlucks. Because I like to tweak recipes, I added sliced chicken breast, 1 cup of coarse chopped peanuts, chopped green onions (green and white parts both), snow peas, 2 tbsps of sugar instead of 1 tsp, 2 tbsps of minced ginger, and toasted sesame seeds. The flavor really melds well together, and it's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
With some tweakng, this is one of my favorite recipes. I double the peanut butter and red pepper flakes, and usually add more water to thin the sauce. Also, I usually saute a bag of frozen vegetables--one with broccoli, peppers, water chesnuts, and sugarsnap peas, and toss that in at the end. It is delicious, and even better for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe is -great- as is, but with the following alterations, I think it's perfect. Use light soy sauce instead of regular (much less salty), and scramble 2 eggs along with the scallions. In addition, use rice noodles instead of spaghetti. Also, crunchy peanut butter (instead of smooth) gives it a nice texture. Garnish with either a few tablespoons of crushed peanuts, cilantro or sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This is an extremely easy sauce to make - smells simply wonderful, I've been using it for years. Go get yourself some ginger-garlic paste from an Indian food store (you'll use it in absolutely everything) and stirfry that with carrots/zucchini/water chestnuts/shrimp etc. Then add the sauce of peanut butter and soy. To make the sauce more liquidy, add some chicken broth or my favorite, some coconut milk from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I LOVE this recipe!! I made it with chunky peanut butter, which adds crunch--I think it is important to use sesame oil--it adds such great flavor! Was surprised to read others liked it using other kinds of oil. Sesame oil has to be refrigerated, then it lasts a lONG time! The author was right--it is equally good hot, warm or cold! It will become a staple at our house, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I made this recipe for 30. I used, proportionally, four times as much ginger as recommended, and an an almost equal amount of garlic. Instead if crushed red peppers, I sauteed thai chilis with the garlic and ginger. I used red wine vinegar instead of cider. It was a crowd (and I do mean crowd!) pleaser. I often make this when I have to feed a large group now. Sesame or peanut oil both work great with this, but olive oil does just fine in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Awesome!! I fried some cubed extra firm tofu (thas was already pressed) before I added the dressing ingredients. I,too, reduced the amount of soy sauce by half. It was delicious and 100% VEGAN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe quite a bit. However, if I do make this again I think I will reduce the amount of peanut oil...it seemed to be too much making things a little on the greasy side. Also, you should note that this dish is quite filling. We had plenty of left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
My husband LOVED this, add since he needs to gain a few pounds, I will be making it often. :-) Make sure to follow the direction to cook on LOW heat-- I didn't and burned the heck out of the onions and ginger the first time! Oops! Very good-- cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States