Peanut-Ginger Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
HOT! HOT! HOT! I mean that in the very best sense of the word. I used low sodium tamari soy sauce, but other than that I didn't change the marinade at all. I used thinly sliced chicken breast and didn't bother with skewers. They were moist and tender and had a great depth of flavor. I can't wait to serve these as appetizers to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This was a wonderful recipe. I marinated the chicken overnight and then grilled it on my george foreman grill. I served it over a can of la choy fancy chinese vegetables mixed in with oriental seasoned ramen. It made for a great thai inspired noodle bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This marinade was excellent! I didn't have the time to marinade it overnight, but I did have a couple of hours to do so. I look forward to marinating it overnight, I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This was a big hit! I didn't have ginger so added a little extra garlic and was very tasty. I served it with white rice and carmelized onions. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I've been using a simmilar recipe for years, the only differences being the use of rice wine vinegar instead of plain white, and I always use whole boneless, skinless thighs, (skipping the skewers) simply because my husband prefers dark meat. I'm too lazy to actually grate my ginger, so I just use the grated stuff from the jar (but not dried ground). Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I used spicy peanut butter so I omitted the chili paste and cooked in in the oven rather than grilling. I served it over white rice and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This is a FABULOUS recipe. I've only made it twice, but after the first time I was hounded to make it again. It's got such depth of flavor - I didn't change a thing (well I used crushed red pepper instead of ground). I made it for our July 4th picnic and I thought I had a couple of skewers left but - no - they were all eaten. Thanks so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I'm making this the second time now! One batch worked for three different meals for my household of 6! I only recommond that there is the addition of cayenne pepper or hot sauce. Highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
WOW. I have never seen my husband eat so fast. Then he started to eye my plate. You bet I'm keeping this one handy. My edits - 3x the chili paste, low sodium soy sauce (next time I'll cut that in half), no oil or ground pepper, and the garlic was in the chili paste so I left that off. I also added some curry. ADDITIONAL COMMENTS... I have made this quite a few times now and I must revise my above edits. I don't use the chili paste anymore as I realized that was what was making the dish so salty. Now I just add plenty of ground red pepper. I no longer bother with the curry powder either. I also like to make extra peanut sauce, thin it with water and add it to veggies towards the end. I like to stir fry onion, asparagus, mushrooms and peppers. Then I just put the chicken on top and serve. So good I'm getting hungry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This recipe wasn't quite what I was expecting but it was very good all the same. I do not have a gas or indoor grill so here is how I did mine. First of all I trimmed the fat from my chicken breasts (I used the whole breasts) and pierced them several times with a fork. I them placed them in a ziploc bag with the sauce and marinated them for 4 hours. I baked them on a rack in a shallow foil-lined pan at 350 degrees for 45 minutes and then broiled them about 6 inches from the heat for another 10 minutes, turning once. This set the sauce on them and gave them a very nice appearance. Oh, I almost forgot, I also mixed up a separate batch of the marinade and used it to baste with while baking. They were very moist and fork tender. Can't wait to try them in the summer when I can grill them over some wood and get the flavor of the wood smoke in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Saint Louis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States