Peanut Chewies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
After making this the first time, I constantly get request to bring this to parties and to work for snacks. It's so original!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
These were great! They taste just like a PayDay candy bar. I was just a little disappointed with the crust - it crumbles when you bite into it. (It's not because I overcooked it either.) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
These were great, everyone loved them. I don't make them often because you just can't stop eating them. Very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Excellent, almost like a candy rather than just a cookie. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I have made these twice in less than two weeks. ABSOLUTELY love them. Very addictive. Wasn't sure if I liked the crust at first, but it tastes good with the other ingredients. Did NOT use the peanuts(son doesn't eat them)and I don't think they really need them in my opinion. The recipe doesn't state to grease your pan, but I think I will try to next time(mine stuck in the pan a little). GREAT recipe. Thank you, Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
So I'm going to be one of those people I hate. Yep, that's right, I'm going to rate a recipe I changed. I promise it's in the spirit of giving though! I had seen a recipe almost identical to this on another site but there was one major difference. The bottom layer was made from packaged peanut butter cookie mix. I went searching for an adaptation like this one because I avoid using mixes, but I found it odd that there was no peanut butter in the cookie layer. Long story short, I added 1/2 cup pb and I'm so glad I did! It was a little messier to spread that layer into the pan, but I never mind getting my hands dirty in the kitchen! I lined my pan with foil then spread it in by hand and then completed the rest of the recipe as it is. I would highly suggest adding the pb if you want a true peanut butter experience. Also, I don't think the peanuts should be listed as optional. They add that amazing crunch and contrasting texture against the gooey marshmallows and soft, crumbly cookie. They don't taste like a Payday though. They're better. I'm sure this recipe is just fine as it is written which is why I still gave it 5 stars, but to make it 10 stars add in the peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Was going to add that I sprinkle chocolate chips over the peanut butter layer when it's all still hot. I put it back in the hot oven for a minute or two and then spread the soft chocolate. It's so easy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
A total home run with the people I made them for (not to mention myself and Hubs too!). Gooey, creamy, crunchy and peanutty all at once. As I made these I expected to find them too sweet and was pleasantly surprised when they were not. Attractive, easy to cut, hold their shape, and just plain satisfying to the sweet tooth. And did I mention they are a fun, quick, no-brainer to make? Just my opinion, but the "optional" peanuts should NOT be omitted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
Great cookie if the kids like peanuts. Tastes similar to the "Payday" candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garfield Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States