Peanut Chewies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Was going to add that I sprinkle chocolate chips over the peanut butter layer when it's all still hot. I put it back in the hot oven for a minute or two and then spread the soft chocolate. It's so easy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
So I'm going to be one of those people I hate. Yep, that's right, I'm going to rate a recipe I changed. I promise it's in the spirit of giving though! I had seen a recipe almost identical to this on another site but there was one major difference. The bottom layer was made from packaged peanut butter cookie mix. I went searching for an adaptation like this one because I avoid using mixes, but I found it odd that there was no peanut butter in the cookie layer. Long story short, I added 1/2 cup pb and I'm so glad I did! It was a little messier to spread that layer into the pan, but I never mind getting my hands dirty in the kitchen! I lined my pan with foil then spread it in by hand and then completed the rest of the recipe as it is. I would highly suggest adding the pb if you want a true peanut butter experience. Also, I don't think the peanuts should be listed as optional. They add that amazing crunch and contrasting texture against the gooey marshmallows and soft, crumbly cookie. They don't taste like a Payday though. They're better. I'm sure this recipe is just fine as it is written which is why I still gave it 5 stars, but to make it 10 stars add in the peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I have made these twice in less than two weeks. ABSOLUTELY love them. Very addictive. Wasn't sure if I liked the crust at first, but it tastes good with the other ingredients. Did NOT use the peanuts(son doesn't eat them)and I don't think they really need them in my opinion. The recipe doesn't state to grease your pan, but I think I will try to next time(mine stuck in the pan a little). GREAT recipe. Thank you, Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Well, I thought I they would taste like a Payday bar as another reviewer mentioned. It didn't - at lest not to me. However, when I got that notion out of my head, I realized it did taste good. It was very peanut buttery but still light tasting. It was also stretchy due to the marshmallows and the mixture on top. I only added 1 cup of salted peanuts since it was optional - next time I'll add 2. If you like peanut butter - you'll like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
A total home run with the people I made them for (not to mention myself and Hubs too!). Gooey, creamy, crunchy and peanutty all at once. As I made these I expected to find them too sweet and was pleasantly surprised when they were not. Attractive, easy to cut, hold their shape, and just plain satisfying to the sweet tooth. And did I mention they are a fun, quick, no-brainer to make? Just my opinion, but the "optional" peanuts should NOT be omitted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Excellent, almost like a candy rather than just a cookie. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These bars were a big hit with our friends at dinner last night. I was even asked for the recipe. I 'd give this one five stars, but they need just a drizzle of chocolate on the top to make these yummy cookies perfect. I melted about 1/4 C of chocolate chips with 1/2 teaspoon of shortening and drizzled it on top after they had been refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These are good bars. I used unsalted peanuts as that was all I had, I think it would best with salted peanuts. I just used one whole egg for the crust, I didn't see the point in just using the egg whites and my crust held together fine. I would probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Very tasty! My crust wasn't at all crumbly as one reviewer said her's was. But I pressed the crumbs VERY firmly into the pan...maybe that's the key. I did add peanuts & I did let them sit in the fridge overnight. They were rock hard & worried me that I had overcooked them but after they had set out of the fridge for a while, they softened back up some. I'll mail some to my Dad...he LOVES PayDays & these really do taste like the candy bar. Thansk Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States