Peanut Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I've made other desserts like this that turned out with a hard crust, but this turned out soooo soft. Be careful when pouring the topping mixture over the marshmallows, or you might cave in the middle. I had marshmallows coming up the sides of the pan, so next time when I pour on the topping, I'll do it slowly and in spoonfuls along the edges first then work my way in. Also! The bag of peanut butter chips wasn't enough, so I added peanut butter to that mixture and a little more corn syrup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This dessert is super rich and has great flavor! I've made it many times and my best advice is to LIBERALLY spray the sides of your baking pan to prevent the marshmallow from becoming a permanent fixture. I also spray my knife before attempting to cut this dish. Also, I've found I'm too cheap to buy the necessary 2 cups of peanut butter chips and just use a standard 12 oz. bag (which is about 1.5 cups. It works just fine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
What a fun recipe! This is definitely a bar recipe and not a cake. I used 1/2 cup more marshmallows than it called for (personal preference). Awesome taste, much better than a Payday candy bar. I highly recommend this recipe, it is rich and chewy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This was really good. My husband was having 16 guys over for a poker party last weekend, and I decided to try this recipe out on them. Needless to say, the bars were gone instantly, and I have requests to make these again for the next get-together. Next time I make these, I will try to make them with chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Fun to make and tastes like my favorite candy bar! I plan at looking at all of Suzanne Stull's recipes. I love the 2 I've done so far!!!! I have to add to this review. I've made these bars too many times to count now. People absolutely rave about them. I'm known for my baking and I'd say these rank on the very tippy top of my best. The most wonderful thing is that they are easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
these are very tasty, I love the cake crust-so easy and they taste better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Brought these to a cookout and got rave reviews. I was asked to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
The bar cake turned out very well but even in a tupperware it became very hard very fast. It only took a few days for it to lose the softness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty O'Brien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This is a great bar. Delicious. Couldn't get enough. You've just got to try it. Go make some NOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These went over pretty well but personally I think that there was just too much going on...the cake base, the marshmallows, the chips, the cereal and then the nuts... good flavor but very sweet and like I said, just too busy for my tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States