Peanut Buttercup Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This isn't a recipe, let me know when you come up with something worth making: "powdered hot chocolate with a dollop of peanut butter" just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was soooo amazingly good, reminded me of melted peanut butter cups. Sooo delicious, I recommend this to anyone who loves chocolate and peanut butter together. Also, I would melt the peanut butter before adding it to the hot chocolate. OMG soo good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jld87

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Genius! I just had it as my bedtime drink and it'll certainly be breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Do not use natural peanut butter! The consistency is not as smooth and will not blend as well. I would recommend this as a fun winter drink. It is a really easy way to satisfy a sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I would eat peanut butter off of the bottom of my shoe, so this was a drink for me. I put the milk and the peanut butter (used 2 Tbls as suggested) into the microwave together and it seemed to eliminate the need to melt the peanut butter separately. If you have a texture fetish, you might not like it once it has cooled to gulping temperature (as opposed to sipping temperatures), because one previous reviewer was right when she said it coagulates. Solution? Drink it while it's hot. I drink this for a quick breakfast sometimes, and it is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I did what the directions said but I think i'd have to add a lot more peanut butter to taste a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I'm only sorry that I didn't try this sooner. I think the key is to make sure you make you cocoa really hot and mix it a lot while still hot, I think this helped mix the peanut butter into the cocoa. Jif creamy natural worked fine for me. Thank you so much for the recipe, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I read the reviews first on this. My cocoa packet said mix with 6oz of water, so I followed that exactly, which I don't normally do. For the peanut butter I used skip creamy "natural." I figured it would be less greasy using a peanut butter without vegetable shortening in it, which is all I ever have in the house anyway. The directions said add 1-2 tsp. of peanut butter. I did 1 level tsp. but I have to say, I could barely taste any peanut butter though. It tasted more like chocolate and peanuts. But, I think it would be good with whipped cream and peanut butter or chocolate topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have to admit - when I found this recipe, I was thinking it wasn't going to turn out as great as it did. But today, we were having a rather blustery, cold day with only a 1/2 day of school. So I made this for a snack for my kids (who love pretty much anything peanut butter/chocolate). I topped it with whipped cream and a drizzle of peanut butter that I had heated. I sampled, and oh, my, it's good. It all melted together so perfectly and was like a liquid peanut butter cup. One of my kids was away, and is so jealous of the other 2, so I am making it again tomorrow for her. So easy, and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States