Peanut Butter/Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Used peanut butter instead of peanut butter chips and added it to the condensed milk before pouring it over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I was looking for something easy and impressive for a business event and this fit the bill. It is exactly like 7-layer bars w/o nuts and coconut. I too added 2Tbs sugar to crumbs and melted butter mixture and firmly pressed into pan. I noted that when I went to cut, the crust started to crumb. I placed the pan in the frig and it firmed up and was easy cutting and it all stayed together perfectly. Plus, these are great right out of the fridge. These are soooo yummy and could not be easier and very addictive. The only thing I would change for next time is making it equal parts chocolate and PB chips b/c the PB chips can get lost in the flavor. This would be great with ANY combination of chips or toppings ie. butterscotch, heath bars, etc. And, they are so rich, a small pan goes a long way b/c you can cut these in tiny bars - that way one could have a taste and not feel overwhelmed by the sweetness if so inclined. I got raves, plus, these freeze well - I had made these in a double batch 15" pan and now have for stop-in guests! BRAVO and thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I added 2 T. of sugar to the graham cracker crumbs and melted butter to give a bit of sweetness to the crust; I also pressed the crust in, so the bars wouldn't crumble. I used a mixture of peanut butter and chocolate chips (1/2 package of each). They turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
My husband LOVED these! I mixed the butter, graham cracker crumbs and condensed milk together in the pan and then spread it out, instead of layering them. We used one full bag of each of the chips on the top, and these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josie's Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
YUMMY! I took the advice of others and mixed the butter with the graham cracker crumbs and then add the condensed milk to that mixture and mixed it in. Then I put it in the bottom of the pan. I added Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips, almond slivers and topped it off with caramel sauce (ice cream topping). Baked for 20 minutes and that was that. I allowed it to cool and then refrigerated it. I couldn't wait for it to get cool! DELICIOUS and so many options to make it your "own" creation. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Kids liked this, but I didn't. I think if I incresed the graham cracker crumbs and made a thicker crust it might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
made this one for an office party and everyone LOVED it! as recommended by another review i added 2 tbs sugar to the graham cracker crumb and butter mix and pressed into pan. also added about 1/3 cup slivered almonds. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Try adding some fiber! 1 1/2 cup of cheerios and its a healthy but sinful snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Very easy to make. As suggested by others I added 2 Tbls. sugar to the crumbs and 2 Tbls. of creamy peanut butter to the condensed milk because many suggested the peanut butter flavor got lost in the chocolate flavor. After they cooled I put the pan in the frig. overnight but still had difficulty cutting them without losing alot of the crumb bottom. Very sweet so I suggest cutting them into tiny pieces. Will make again but would spray Pam on the pan first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
These bars taste good and are incredibly easy to make. Anyone who is looking for a quick and tasty treat should try making them. It would be impossible to mess them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States